MediaPortal Forums HTPC/MediaCenter

Go Back   MediaPortal Forum » MediaPortal 1 » Get Support » General Support


General Support Post problems you have when using MediaPortal, or pre installation questions in here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 2006-08-12, 05:39   #1 (permalink)
Portal Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Iowa
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts


Default Is this true about MediaPortal incorporating spyware?

I have been a long time user of mediaportal, and overall very happy with the product. I'm concerned about a few posts referenced on a recent threat started on AVSforum and HTPCforum. These individuals appear to be starting rumors about how there is spyware incorporated into the MediaPortal product? I have had some strange occurences of spyware related problems off/on with my pc in the past, hope they are not related to me using this product?

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=709926

http://www.htpcforums.com/index.php?showtopic=560
sirquack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-08-12, 06:18   #2 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,957
Thanks: 71
Thanked 28 Times in 28 Posts

Country:

My System

Send a message via ICQ to Marcusb
Default

I wouldn't worry too much.
Those sites just flame and don't give any real evidence.
I followed their instructions and googled ""Media Portal" Spyware" and all I got were a lot of sites recommending Mediaportal that also contained banner adds for spy ware removal (which makes up most of the internet nowadays). Major Geeks and Softpedia are a couple of reputable examples that were praising MP.

Looks like sour grapes if you ask me. ll the other HTPC apps are being eaten up by corporations nowadays.
Marcusb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-08-12, 06:50   #3 (permalink)
Retired Team Member
 
mPod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Berlin
Age: 34
Posts: 2,086
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

Country:

My System

Default

Be asured that this is just flaming, MediaPortal's sources are available to everyone to check if some spyware is hidden somewhere. We are using Microsoft's VS installer engine for the release packages, the setup project is also available to the public. Some people just don't like MP's success story while other HTPC apps are going down the drain (as you can read between the lines in those posts). :wink:

Don't let some people with some weird minds confuse you. In doubt, download the sources and have a look at them.
__________________


Bad news from the stars...

We cannot give any support without a properly filled support template
and a full mediaportal.log pasted here.


Before you ask...
mPod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-08-12, 08:16   #4 (permalink)
Portal Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 23
Posts: 707
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

My System

Default

I don't understand why people feel the need to spread misinformation like this.
jawbroken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-08-12, 08:40   #5 (permalink)
Portal Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 773
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts


Default

Well it may not be 'mis-information' as such. It could well be the case that someone, with servers in Russia & China, is using the mediaportal name to spread their spyware/adware (because it obviously gets hits from search engines). This guy at HTPCForums, obviously worried and not really thinking straight, thought it came from the legit MediaPortal and hence is on the offensive, as he calls it.

Its a problem that you can't really avoid - guess the only way to reassure users is to let them know the real situation - therefore I think someone with access should post something reconfirming what was said in this thread on the main news page.

Sam
samuel337 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-08-12, 08:44   #6 (permalink)
Portal Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 23
Posts: 707
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

My System

Default

Well, he is providing information that is incorrect and, on top of that, encouraging people to spread it throughout the internet. This definitely falls under misinformation in my mind, whether he is aware that it is false or not. I am not sure whether a main page post is a good idea or not, or whether it should just be ignored. I don't know how widely this post has spread. It might be best just to ignore him rather than give him attention.
jawbroken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-08-12, 08:48   #7 (permalink)
Portal Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 773
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts


Default

Sorry....by 'misinformation' I was referring to the fact that I don't think he just made it up because he's a disgruntled HTPC user. He could well have I guess.

I didn't mean to correct your post or anything.

Fair enough point about the posting on main page idea - I guess we'll just let it run its course for the time being and see how far it goes.

Sam
samuel337 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-08-12, 09:22   #8 (permalink)
Portal Developer
 
frodo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: The Netherlands
Age: 37
Posts: 1,516
Thanks: 3
Thanked 119 Times in 44 Posts

Country:

My System

Default

On the internet some rumors are floating around that MediaPortal contains spyware

Please note that this is simply not true. MediaPortal does not contain any spyware or viruses. All our sources are free for downloading and anybody can check its spyware free. Also we received recommendations from sites like softpedia that MP is spyware free.



But if people download MediaPortal from some other server , bittorrent or emule link then offcourse we can not guarantee this. As always on the internet be carefull with the things you download & install on your pc. If you download MediaPortal from http://www.team-mediaportal.com then you are safe. If you decide to use a copy you got from somebody or downloaded somewhere else then be aware it might contain viruses or spyware.

frodo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-08-12, 11:32   #9 (permalink)
Portal Member
 
McChots's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Johannesburg
Age: 27
Posts: 95
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

Country:

My System

Default

Since MP source is available easily, it's possible that someone has compiled a version with spyware in it.

We should advise people to donload MP from this site or official mirrors only.

Oops. Frodo already said this.
My Intenet connection failed as I was typing this and I submitted the reply when I reconnected without checking the thread first. Sorry!!
McChots is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
incorporating, spyware, true

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A perfect HTPC with MP & PVR Scheduler & faster XP STSC Tips and Tricks 16 2007-01-30 23:40
big problems with TV sostick General Support 1 2006-02-15 00:30
changing TV Channel than MediaPortal freeze, cvs 17.Jan2006 thkogel The old Bugreport Forum 3 2006-02-05 15:14
Media portal crashes JörgenL General Support 2 2005-12-26 14:07
Compile problems Anonymous General Development (no feature request here!) 1 2004-04-28 22:49


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.2.0 Protected by Akismet Blog with WordPress
Advertisement System V2.6 By   Branden