MediaPortal Forums HTPC/MediaCenter

Go Back   MediaPortal Forum » MediaPortal 1 » MediaPortal 1 Talk


MediaPortal 1 Talk General talk regarding our HTPC-software MediaPortal 1 takes place here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 2008-03-25, 10:56   #1 (permalink)
Portal Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts


Default this guy is selling media portal on ebay!!!!

Hi

Just thought I would notify you that some guy is claiming to have reseller rights and is selling media portal on ebay

2008 Windows XP Media Portal Multi Media Center PC TV + on eBay, also Windows, Operating Systems, Software, Computers Networking (end time 26-Mar-08 16:22:26 GMT)
itye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-03-25, 12:19   #2 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Spragleknas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rogaland
Age: 32
Posts: 3,339
Thanks: 137
Thanked 59 Times in 49 Posts

Country:

My System

Default

Is this guy selling your hard work?
People selling MediaPortal on eBay
Selling MediaPortal on eBay
selling media portal on ebay?
Should Someone be Selling Media Portal???
__________________
Please read -> HOW TO START A SUPPORT THREAD !!!
Support MediaPortal! Donate by clicking HERE
Dedicated HTPC board (Norway) -> MSPC.no
Spragleknas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-03-25, 12:29   #3 (permalink)
Portal Developer
 
and-81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Melbourne
Age: 27
Posts: 2,246
Thanks: 30
Thanked 132 Times in 86 Posts

Country:

My System

Default

Can't do much about this. But this guy isn't burning it to a CD, so that's actually not allowed under the GPL.

All you can do is report the auction to ebay.

Cheers,
and-81 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-03-25, 12:36   #4 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Paranoid Delusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cheshire UK
Posts: 5,420
Thanks: 75
Thanked 152 Times in 138 Posts

Country:

My System

Default

He could have chosen some better pictures, does not do it justice.

Not selling any media, only download link, just hope he gets some shit feedback.

Any ebayers want to ask any questions with him.
Paranoid Delusion is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-03-25, 15:35   #5 (permalink)
MP Donator
 
MoPhat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Age: 35
Posts: 638
Thanks: 4
Thanked 40 Times in 10 Posts

Country:

My System

Default

Hi, i have reported this guy to ebay!

He try to sell a lot of MP download links: eBay Seller: brazilianbuckwheats copyrighten auctions: Software, Information Products items on eBay.com

Now waiting for a feedback...

MoPhat
MoPhat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-03-25, 15:53   #6 (permalink)
Portal Member
 
Gixxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Age: 23
Posts: 395
Thanks: 16
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

Country:

My System

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MoPhat View Post
Hi, i have reported this guy to ebay!

He try to sell a lot of MP download links: eBay Seller: brazilianbuckwheats copyrighten auctions: Software, Information Products items on eBay.com

Now waiting for a feedback...

MoPhat

please tell us what happens with this ebay seller.

i hate when people try to take benefit from others work.
Gixxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-03-26, 07:07   #7 (permalink)
MP Donator
 
MoPhat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Age: 35
Posts: 638
Thanks: 4
Thanked 40 Times in 10 Posts

Country:

My System

Default

i had only received a auto-reply from ebay with blah...blah...blah... inside

maybe its coming more (?)

MoPhat
MoPhat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-03-26, 10:23   #8 (permalink)
Webadmin
 
high's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NRW/Germany
Age: 31
Posts: 878
Thanks: 42
Thanked 71 Times in 31 Posts

Country:


Send a message via ICQ to high
Default

dont expect more...reported 5 guys with 80 auctions last month. All of them violate the GPL (just Downloadlink from a free hosting service, no sourcecode aso). They are all still active.

Besides that the version they sell is mostly a renamed 0.2.2 from Dec. 2006, sold as Media Portal Mediacenter 2008 or something like that. No need to say how 'happy' buyers are if they notice what they just bought...
high is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-03-26, 10:28   #9 (permalink)
Portal Developer
 
and-81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Melbourne
Age: 27
Posts: 2,246
Thanks: 30
Thanked 132 Times in 86 Posts

Country:

My System

Default

Good old ebay, if you don't threaten legal action then you're not serious ...
and-81 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-03-26, 19:44   #10 (permalink)
Portal User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Country:

My System

Default

Just send a message through the ebay system to all bidders warning them they are getting scammed.
bobolito is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
ebay, guy, media, portal, selling

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is this guy selling your hard work? mrdooby MediaPortal 1 Talk 46 2007-12-03 10:26
People selling MediaPortal on eBay tstaddon MediaPortal 1 Talk 8 2007-07-10 18:39
Selling MediaPortal on eBay butlerat MediaPortal 1 Talk 1 2007-03-10 16:37
selling media portal on ebay? {OF}Blong OffTopic 5 2006-01-31 01:12
Should Someone be Selling Media Portal??? HammerFeet MediaPortal 1 Talk 8 2005-10-19 19:50


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:31.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.2.0 Protected by Akismet Blog with WordPress