Is Mediaportal dying out? (1 Viewer)

eetaylog

Portal Pro
March 6, 2007
South London
Home Country
England England
The forums seem very quiet in the last year or so and there seems to be little change in areas that were once buzzing with content and support. Titan skin for example (a supposedly recognised skin) seems to have been left dead in the water, and certain areas of hardware discussion have also gone quiet.

Is it a case of people switching over to kodi? Ive dabbled a bit with xbmc and the latest incarnation is lightyears ahead in terms of customisation and plugins. Ive been using MP and knocking around the forums for around 10 years giving any help that i can with advice etc, so Id hate to see the project lose any sort momentum. Or am i just imagining things?

regeszter

Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • October 29, 2005
    Home Country
    Hungary Hungary
    Hi,

MP1 downloads in 2016. The last MP1 release was in June. The next will be on the next month.
    mp1download2016.PNG

regeszter

Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • October 29, 2005
    Home Country
    Hungary Hungary
    The forum statistics now: Online now: 672 (members: 48, guests: 531)

Lehmden

Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • December 17, 2010
    Lehmden
    Home Country
    Germany Germany
    Hi.
    The forums seem very quiet
    Sometimes I also have this feeling.

Is it a case of people switching over to kodi?
    In general "classic" HTPC software like WMC, MP or Kodi is loosing its user base. This is caused by people switching over to online streaming services like Netflix, Amazon Prime and so on. This affects both major use cases of "classic" HTPC software, playing locally stored media and watch linear (= aired) TV. By the way, there is more to use than Kodi. Indeed Kodi is the last I would use as an alternative to MP. If I would need to change my main HTPC software I definitely would go for Emby, not for Kodi.