UK user, EPG help "no data available" (1 Viewer)

IanJ

MP Donator
  • Premium Supporter
  • October 22, 2010
    Home Country
    Scotland Scotland
    Hi all,

I am new to MP, all going pretty good except for the EPG.............no data available.

I have managed to get the XmlTv plugin working and have managed to create a tvguide.xml file (5mb in size), and when I view it it does contain channel/program data for some of the channels I need. Indeed, the mappings tab shows me that some of the channels I have visible in the guide have good mappings tuning to guide data.

I have also unchecked the DVB-EPG box for all my cards.

So why does my EPG show every channel as no data available. It took me 20 mins to get MP installed, but I've been at the EPG issue for 3hrs.

Do I need to tell MP where to pick up my tvguide.xml......? or does it just have to sit where it was created.

Help!

Ian.

IanJ

MP Donator
  • Premium Supporter
  • October 22, 2010
    Home Country
    Scotland Scotland
    Fixed.......thanks to Google!

The plugin needs some work. For the newbie it's very unclear.

Ian.

IanJ

MP Donator
  • Premium Supporter
  • October 22, 2010
    Home Country
    Scotland Scotland
    Hi all,

Here's what I did.....in brief:-

1. Enable MP XMLTV plugin, but don't bother with the supplied scripts as they didn't work for me. Sure it made a tvguide.xml for me but it wasn't very well populated (using RadioTimes conf as I'm in the UK).

2. Install XMLTVGUI. This is a standalone program which can create an xml file from a variety of sources. I have it configured for RadioTimes. In the setup for XMLTV GUI make it save the XML file to the MP XMLTV plugin folder, i.e. the same folder where the original sits. Get it all configured nicely and test that it grabs the data and is able to save the XML file to the proper location etc. The XML file MUST be saved as tvguide.xml