Watching recorded tv shows stop my timeshift (1 Viewer)

mserena

August 14, 2014
Home Country
Australia Australia
Hi,
I'm very new to the htpc world and only this week I decided to try MP. Working well so far, but having a problem with how the Recorded TV set up works.
I want to watch a show that I have recorded from Live TV but when I do that, the TV feature is disabled.
When I press stop in the recorded program I have no time-shift buffer to go back to.
Normally when I'm watching Live-TV and I try press stop it asks if i want to turn off time-shift, but if I'm watching a recording i don't have that ability.
I find this a bit counter intuitive.

Any advice?
Thanks

Mark

mm1352000

Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • September 1, 2008
    Home Country
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hello and welcome Mark :)

When I press stop in the recorded program I have no time-shift buffer to go back to.
    MediaPortal is not able to keep the buffer while you watch a recording. The buffer is lost whenever you stop live TV. That includes when you start a playing videos, music, or recorded TV... or simply stop live TV.

Regards,
    mm

mserena

August 14, 2014
    Home Country
    Australia Australia
    thanks for the response and the welcome mm.

bugger. is there anyway around that? just been reading about the ramdisk briefly, just my previous pvr (topfield) had that functionality and am used to it have a storage kept for timeshift. would ramdisk be anything to consider?

mm1352000

Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • September 1, 2008
    Home Country
    New Zealand New Zealand
    is there anyway around that?
    No, none that I'm aware of. At least not with standard MP1/TVE 3.

just been reading about the ramdisk briefly, just my previous pvr (topfield) had that functionality and am used to it have a storage kept for timeshift. would ramdisk be anything to consider?