What is Mediaportal 2 Alpha (1 Viewer)

elsmandino

Portal Pro
March 3, 2011
Home Country
United Kingdom United Kingdom
Forgive my ignorance, but I am just about to do a complete install of Mediaportal 1.2.2 and I am now wondering whether I should have a go with Mediaportal 2 Alpha instead.

I have tried reading everything in the forum and have ended up confusing myself.

The installer says that I can install 2 alongside my existing 1.2.2 installation - how does this work logistically? For example, if I set up a recording under both, won't there be a clash?

Sorry if this is a stupid question.

Ultimately, given that I am still a bit of a beginner with MP, despite having been tinkering with it for years, is MP 2 something I should leave alone for the time being?

porky996t

MP Donator
  • Premium Supporter
  • May 21, 2008
    Bolton, Lancashire, England
    Home Country
    England England
    Hi Elsmandino,

If I were you I would stick with 1.2.2 for the time being. MP2 is (from what I have read) a full rewrite of MP1 and is just at Alpha stage. I have been following the progress and will wait for sometime until I go for MP2... well at least until it is a full release with matching skins and plugins.

mbuzina

Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • April 11, 2005
    Germany
    Home Country
    Germany Germany
    MP2 will in the future replace MP1. But right now if you want to use it and not play around with it, stick with MP 1.x.x for productive usage.

Smeulf

Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • October 27, 2010
    France
    Home Country
    France France
    Forgive my ignorance, but I am just about to do a complete install of Mediaportal 1.2.2 and I am now wondering whether I should have a go with Mediaportal 2 Alpha instead.

I have tried reading everything in the forum and have ended up confusing myself.