What is xmlTV required for? (1 Viewer)

TheBatfink

MP Donator
  • Premium Supporter
  • June 11, 2007
    Nottingham
    Home Country
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Maybe an ignorant question but I see lots of people saying they use webEPG + xmlTV. Well I use webEPG and have a fully populated EPG so I'm happy at the moment, but its pretty clear xmlTV has some use beyond this. I'm just getting into finally tightening up the config of my MePo properly now for TV use and I'm curious what xmlTV does or can do for me so that I get the most out of my setup :)

So what does it do extra than just using webEPG?

Thanks!

arion_p

Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • February 7, 2007
    Athens
    Home Country
    Greece Greece
    Historically, WebEPG would output an xmltv format tvguide which would then be imported throught XmlTV import plugin.
    This is not necessary anymore as (since 1.1.0) WebEPG can import directly into TVServer's database.

However XmlTV still has it's uses as there are several XmlTV grabbers for which there is either no WebEPG equivalent or the XmlTV grabber has more data/is more accurate than the WebEPG one.

Also for US users the best option is to use mc2xml + xmltv plugin (we have no working WebEPG grabber for US channels :( )

TheBatfink

MP Donator
  • Premium Supporter
  • June 11, 2007
    Nottingham
    Home Country
    Thanks for the information. Makes sense. As webEPG is currently working fine for me I'll not try to fix what isn't broke then!

Thanks
    Batfink

robbo100

Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • May 5, 2009
    UK
    Home Country