50 hz TV on a 60 Hz Plasma - can it be done?

Discussion in 'Displays' started by Kermit1974, February 7, 2011.

  1. Kermit1974

    Kermit1974 Portal Member

    Joined:
    November 26, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    Hi all - what a fantastic forum, and sooo many helpfull people...;)
    I have a 40" inch LG Plasma (LG42P6010). A good display, but I have a problem.
    The only good resolution I can get on this display is 1280 x 768 @ 60 Hz.
    I connect to the display via HDMI.
    I live in Denmark, where our TV format is 50 Hz PAL, but if I try to chance my display adaptor to 50 Hz or use one of the "native" HDMI resolutions (25p or 50p) the image, it seems as though the TV resamples it and the picture is almost onreadable.
    The specs. for the display says that it supports all the standard formats for both 50 Hz and 60 Hz natively.
    If I look on the graph when watching TV I see the typical "sawtooth" because of the upscaling from 50 to 60 Hz.
    The Playback is OK, but not as smooth as I want.
    MY GFX is an onboard ATI HD 3600.

    Does anyone know if I can "force" 50 hz to the display without the picture getting screwed?


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. pilehave
    • Premium Supporter

    pilehave Community Skin Designer

    Joined:
    April 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566
    Likes Received:
    500
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Technical consultant, marketing
    Location:
    Hornslet
    Ratings:
    +517 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    As far as I can tell, the manual tells what you have already learned, only 60Hz is supported in PC-mode :(

    50 Hz and 24 Hz is supported in DTV-mode, but when connecting a PC it will switch to PC-mode.

    Until recently I owned a 42" PG plasma as well, and this supported 50Hz on HDMI, but not when connecting a PC :mad:

    Now I have a 50" and I made DAMN sure that it supported both 24Hz and 50Hz in PC-mode before i bough it :rolleyes:
     
  4. Owlsroost
    • Team MediaPortal

    Owlsroost Development Group

    Joined:
    October 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,537
    Likes Received:
    2,829
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +4,131 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
  5. te3hpurp
    • Premium Supporter

    te3hpurp Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    September 23, 2008
    Messages:
    904
    Likes Received:
    182
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Senior Software Architect
    Location:
    Rovaniemi
    Ratings:
    +229 / 0
    Home Country:
    Finland Finland
    Show System Specs
    Hi.

    My Philips 42" plasma was also in same situation. But By Using Catalyst Control Center I could force HDTV 1280x720\50p mode.
    Now Im using Nvidia and same applies there.

    So I'm almost sure it can be forced to "Tv mode" somewhere in display adapters control panel.

    Br,
     
  6. Kermit1974

    Kermit1974 Portal Member

    Joined:
    November 26, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    I'll try to post a report.

    If I force CCC to output the desired format, the TV overrides it, and resamples it to a crappy solution.

    Aaarrrghhh! Guess you're right, Pillehave... Because it won't accept other modes than PC - no matter what I try... And I think I have tried every combo available on the TV.
    Have to live with it, I guess. And will look for a better TV-support on my next one.

    Thank's for you answer, and thank you and all the other developers on the fantastic MAYA skin:D
     
  7. pilehave
    • Premium Supporter

    pilehave Community Skin Designer

    Joined:
    April 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566
    Likes Received:
    500
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Technical consultant, marketing
    Location:
    Hornslet
    Ratings:
    +517 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    It will proably be able to receive 1280x720@50Hz, but since the panel resolution is 1024x768 it will look awful...
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!