A noobies experience of mediaportal (1 Viewer)

ElvisMcDuck

Portal Member
July 24, 2005
Skedsmokorset
Home Country
Norway Norway
I am a complete newbie on everything that has to do with HTPC's. A couple of months ago I bought a TV-tuner on impulse (Terratec 400), just because I wanted to play around with it and see what this thing was.
One thing led to another and now I find myself struggling with Mediaportal on my brand new, self made HTPC.
A few days ago, when I was swearing and clicking like a maniac, I sat down and tried to cool of a bit. I thought
"I can’t be the only one who struggles with this, I should try to make a thread on my "war on the machine". This might show the programmers some problems they haven't even thought off, because to them it would be like turning the system on, before you try to use it. And it probably would help other newbie’s later on, when I some beautiful day, have it all set."

Ok, I'm starting to realize that "all set", is probably not the best phrase to use on software that comes in new versions every day :)
But I mean being able to watch TV, DVD, Use the radio and so on.

My system consists of the following more or less randomly chosen parts:

CPU: Athlon 64 3200+
Memory: Corsair value 3200 DDR 2*512MB
Mobo: MSI K8N NEO4 F
Chipset: NVIDIA nForce4
Vid card: Powercolor Radeon X600 PRO 128 MB - with the latest drivers
TV Card: Sapphire Theatrix 550 PRO - with the latest drivers
Hard disk: Samsung Spinpoint P120 200GB
DVD tray: NEC ND 3540A
Power: NorthQ 4001SX 400W
And a couple Zalman and Papst fans all stuffed into a Silverstone LC03 case.

This I have connected to my 16:9 TV through the VGA port to VGA scart with a homemade cable (which there is a thread on here) :
http://nolanparty.com/mediaportal.sourceforge.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=5531&highlight=vga+scart

I'm Using powerstrip (Which was a bastard to set up) to set resolution and timings.