AAC playback using already installed codec, not iTunes

Discussion in 'Codecs, External Players' started by dayn3779, March 25, 2006.

  1. dayn3779

    dayn3779 Portal Member

    Joined:
    August 24, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi,

    As part of the K-Lite Mega Codec Pack (http://www.free-codecs.com/download/K_Lite_Mega_Codec_Pack.htm) there is a DirectShow AAC decoder.

    Is it possible to get MP to use this codec within My Music to play AAC files without the need to use the iTunes plugin?



    If not, could anyone suggest a good AAC-MP3 converter that is good at handling bulk transforms?

    Many thanks,

    Nathan
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Brocklander
    • Team MediaPortal

    Brocklander Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    September 15, 2004
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Wellington
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    I use 3ivx for AAC and some other Quicktime stuff - that and FFDShow let me play pretty much everything.
     
  4. dayn3779

    dayn3779 Portal Member

    Joined:
    August 24, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    My apologies ... AAC above should read m4a.

    :oops:

    Basically I'm trying to get the music I originally ripped from my CD's using iTunes to play in MP without having to have iTunes installed on my HTPC.

    Can this been done through just having the correct audio codec or is it more complicated than this?

    Do I really have to download iTunes agian?!

    Cheers,

    Nathan
     
  5. Brocklander
    • Team MediaPortal

    Brocklander Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    September 15, 2004
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Wellington
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Okay I'll try again :D

    3ivx will let you play AAC (.m4a or whatever you want to call them) files in Windows Media Player, and therefore in Media Portal. So short answer - download 3ivx, add .m4a to your file extensions in the Music setup, and enjoy!

    http://www.free-codecs.com/download/3ivx.htm
     
  6. dayn3779

    dayn3779 Portal Member

    Joined:
    August 24, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Still having problems ... do you mind trying once more ;-)

    I installed the 3ivx (v4.5.1.30) codec, but still can't get m4a files playing in either MP or WMP10.

    The .m4a entry is already present in the MP RC3 music extensions setup.

    Do I need to do anything else to enable WMP10 and therfore MP to be able to use this codec?

    Incidentally, the internal player MP is using is 'Windows Media Player 9'. I tried it with DirectShow, but that also didn't work.

    Thanks for you help so far.

    Nathan
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!