AC3 Audio out of sync/AC3 Problems

Discussion in '0.2.0.0 Release Candidate 3 Release and CVS Bugs' started by imported_KRA, March 19, 2006.

  1. imported_KRA

    imported_KRA Portal Member

    Joined:
    March 19, 2006
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Windows Version: WindowsXP SP2
    CPU Type: AMD X2 3800+
    Memory: PQI 2x512MB
    Motherboard: MSI K8N Neo2
    Motherboard Chipset: Nforce3 Ultra
    Motherboard Bios: latest
    Video Card: Geforce 6600GT
    Video Card Driver: 81.78
    Sound Card: nforce
    Sound Card AC3: nforce/spdif
    Sound Card Driver: nforce 5.11
    1. TV Card: FloppyDTV
    1. TV Card Type: DVB-S
    1. TV Card Driver: BDA 2.3 lite
    2. TV Card: Hauppauge
    2. TV Card Type: PVR350
    2. TV Card Driver: ??? not relevant
    Video Codec: Intervideo (windvd7)
    Audio Codec: MPEG/AC3/DTS/LPCM Audio
    Satelite/CableTV Provider: CanalDigital (Thor sattelites)
    HTPC Case: N/A
    Power Supply: 550W Hiper
    Remote: MCE
    TV: 37" LCD 1368x768
    TV - HTPC Connection: VGA

    When changing to a channel with AC3 sound (through spdif) audio is out of sync often. Skipping forward or back in the TS buffer fix the issue, maybe not 100% but so close it could be speaker setup.

    Also AC3 via SPDIF does not work correctly with Intervideo windvd7 codec. It's almost like it's an "under water" effect on the sound.


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. RoChess
    • Premium Supporter

    RoChess Extension Developer

    Joined:
    March 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,153
    Likes Received:
    1,294
    Ratings:
    +1,659 / 2
    What is the CPU usage during this? Do you see any 100% peak when you switch?
     
  4. imported_KRA

    imported_KRA Portal Member

    Joined:
    March 19, 2006
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    How is this confirmed not a bug ?

    CPU spikes are not that easy to find on a dual core CPU
     
  5. RoChess
    • Premium Supporter

    RoChess Extension Developer

    Joined:
    March 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,153
    Likes Received:
    1,294
    Ratings:
    +1,659 / 2
    Trying to clean up forum, so we can focus on the real bugs.

    It seemed that your problem was mainly codec related, so not a bug in MediaPortal.

    But the main reason I classified you, was because you didn't reply, so I assumed in the last CVS your issue got solved. But I'll put you back as unconfirmed bug, because so far nobody else has been able to confirm this one.

    So please see if you can target down the problem, try other codecs/settings/etc. And of course use latest CVS.
     
  6. Commodore 64
    • Team MediaPortal

    Commodore 64 Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    June 20, 2005
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
  7. ronilse
    • Team MediaPortal

    ronilse Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    July 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,422
    Likes Received:
    280
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    MediaPortal tester
    Location:
    Moss
    Ratings:
    +280 / 0
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    Show System Specs
    Hi,
    Does the latest SVN fix this?

    Regards
    Roy
     
  8. imported_KRA

    imported_KRA Portal Member

    Joined:
    March 19, 2006
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I installed a SVN yesterday, and so far it seems very stable, havn't tested much yet. I noticed that normal sound was a little off sync, but I think that was the broadcast, happend once in a while on my STB as well.

    For some reason tvguide (webepg) import doesn't work. The tvguide.xml is full of info, but nothing gets imported.
     
  9. ronilse
    • Team MediaPortal

    ronilse Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    July 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,422
    Likes Received:
    280
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    MediaPortal tester
    Location:
    Moss
    Ratings:
    +280 / 0
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    Show System Specs
    Hi,
    The webepg works here, had a complete new install of MP yesterday & runned a new webepg now to test, everything works here.
    Take a look in setup & check if anything it's changed & select "Remove all programs from TV database". After that you can run import TV guide one more time, if not start a new thread about webepg issue.

    Regards
    Roy
     
  10. imported_KRA

    imported_KRA Portal Member

    Joined:
    March 19, 2006
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I found the EPG error, the path to the XML file is "hardcoded" in configuration.exe, so when I copied the "MPRC3" folder (clean install) over to a "CVS" folder that I could apply CVS on and still keep the fresh RC3, the path to the XML file was still pointing to the path where it was originally installed.

    Never had this problem before though. And easy fix would be to use %mediaportalfolder%/xmltv rather than a complete path, but then again, that would break the ability to use a common tvguide.xml file for different installations.
     
  11. infinite.loop
    • Team MediaPortal

    infinite.loop Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    December 26, 2004
    Messages:
    16,163
    Likes Received:
    3,861
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Ratings:
    +4,154 / 7
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    Show System Specs
    i have noticed a simmilar issue with some TV-Shows. but they are broadcasted out of sync.

    so this is fixed?
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!