Advanced Features (1 Viewer)

dobyken

MP Donator
  • Premium Supporter
  • June 8, 2009
    Florida Gulf Coast
    Home Country
    United States of America United States of America
    I'm new to MediaPortal but have been running PVR's for 15 years or longer starting with a capture card and timers on a Dish Network SD receiver. Currently I'm running Windows 7 MCE and Media Browser but am getting ready to setup a new MP box for use with a HDHomerun. Prior to Win 7 I ran BeyondTV connected to a DirecTV HD receiver with a couple of PVR-150 cards. I also have an extensive collection of DVD's stored in 2 Sony 985v Jukeboxes which are controlled with and older version of DVDLobby/MainLobby and a Global Cache GC-100 Network IR blaster. Automation such as irrigation and swimming pool pool control is with Homeseer and a Rain8 module. Music playback is currently using 2 wall mounted toshiba tablets and Mainlobby/MusicLobby screens. JRiver MC is set to pump out selected music out the rear speakers of my sound card and into Zone 2 of my Onyko receiver. I have stopped my DirecTV service and relie 100% on OTA and torrents for all my viewing. I played a bit with MP before I got the HDHomerun but never really did much beyond a test install. I do not want to spend any money on new software, hardware or upgrades so my choices boiled down to Myth or MP. Due to serious problems with ATI video drivers in Myth I decided to go with Media Portal.

I know there's been some work done with IR control and X10 but it doesn't look like it's progressed very far. I'd like to get all my PVR and automation down to one machine. Tell me if it's possible to duplicate most of the above features.