Ongoing Advice on HTPC Builds for MediaPortal (1 Viewer)

sambo7

Portal Member
August 31, 2011
Home Country
Hi,

I am currently in progress of putting together components for a new HTPC that I would like to run Windows 7 / MediaPortal on. I have never built a HTPC before either so I have done a fair amount of research on the below components. As a bit of a guide I want to spend a little as possible and also want this HTPC to perform the same or better than my Beyonwiz PVR that I currently use. I want to be able to view HDTV and Record/View Live TV at the same time without any stutters etc.

I also want this HTPC to be as quiet as possible.

I have come up with the following specs (Intel Build and AMD Build). Advice from all of you would be greatly appreciated.

HTPC Intel Build - $642
CPU: Intel i3 2100
GPU: GeForce GT 430 Low Profile
MB: Gigabyte GA-Z68MA-D2H-B3
RAM: GSkill Ripjaws-X 4GB (2x2GB) 1600
TV Tuner: Leadtek WinFast DTV2000DS Dual HD Tuner
Case: Antec NSK2480
PSU: Antec 430W
Media Remote: Windows MCE Remote

HTPC Intel Build - $537
CPU: AMD A8-3850 Quad Core Fusion
GPU: Onboard GPU
MB: ASRock A75M-HVS
RAM: GSkill Ripjaws-X 4GB (2x2GB) 1600
TV Tuner: Leadtek WinFast DTV2000DS Dual HD Tuner
Case: Antec NSK2480
PSU: Antec 430W
Media Remote: Windows MCE Remote

I appreciate the help.

Thanks again

Sam.

mm1352000

Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • September 1, 2008
    Home Country
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hi sambo7

Unless I'm very much mistaken, your Intel build can't work - the motherboard doesn't have any PCI slots to accommodate the tuner.

mm

sambo7

Portal Member
    August 31, 2011
    Home Country
    Hi sambo7

Unless I'm very much mistaken, your Intel build can't work - the motherboard doesn't have any PCI slots to accommodate the tuner.

mm