All FireDTV / FloppyDTV users: post your configuration

Discussion in 'General Support' started by hansdegit, June 7, 2006.

  1. hansdegit

    hansdegit Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Database specialist
    Location:
    Schagen, The Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Hi to all!

    My FloppyDTV-C gives me a few headaches. From time to time, the tuner disconnects itself from the FireWire bus and only a cold boot seems to bring it back online again. I was wondering, since not every FireDTV user is bugged by this,

    What combination of hardware/drivers/firmware do you use??

    My config:
    Conceptronic Ci1394B firewire interface
    FloppyDTV-C
    Firmware 06-jun-2006
    driver: 4.1.0 BDA



    is your config stable? Which problems are bugging you?
    Nope, not stable. Tuner disconnects from time to time.
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. petteram

    petteram Portal Pro

    Joined:
    November 4, 2005
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Norway
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    FloppyDTV-S
    Firmware 1.2.0 - 06-jun-2006
    driver: 4.2.0 BDA

    Have had a lot of "no signal" and freezing in the past, but after upgrading to
    latest firmware yesterday it has been stable as ever.
    I guess the better CAM handling part did the trick.
    FloppyDTV-S is connected to a ST Lab pci firewire 1394 2+1 card
    on the internal connection.
     
  4. SweMart
    • Premium Supporter

    SweMart MP Donator

    Joined:
    March 25, 2006
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    11
    Occupation:
    IT
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    FloppyDTV-T
    Firmware 1.2.0 - 06-jun-2006
    driver: 4.2.0 BDA

    Mine has never disconnected, I have problems with my subscription card though. I get "No Signal" something like once a day, in RC2 the error message was "Channel is encrypted" which allowed me to press OK to resume the viewing. Problem is solved in RC4 by removing the smart card from the CAM and reinserting it.

    Have you disabled your firewire network adapter?
     
  5. SweMart
    • Premium Supporter

    SweMart MP Donator

    Joined:
    March 25, 2006
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    11
    Occupation:
    IT
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Did you chose "Enable PID filtering"?
     
  6. petteram

    petteram Portal Pro

    Joined:
    November 4, 2005
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Norway
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    No. What is pid filtering?
     
  7. SweMart
    • Premium Supporter

    SweMart MP Donator

    Joined:
    March 25, 2006
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    11
    Occupation:
    IT
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    See https://www.team-mediaportal.com/news/global/digital_everywhere_and_mediaportal_update.html

    You can enable it in config if you do edit on your FloppyDTV.
     
  8. hansdegit

    hansdegit Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Database specialist
    Location:
    Schagen, The Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    All right, would you guys do me a favor, please?

    - start MP
    - go to "my tv" and watch an encrypted channel
    - let powerscheduler hibernate the machine
    - wake up from hibernation
    - go to "my tv" and watch an encrypted channel (again)
    - wait a few minutes.

    Does your FireDTV/FloppyDTV still function? Is it still connected to the firewire bus?
     
  9. SweMart
    • Premium Supporter

    SweMart MP Donator

    Joined:
    March 25, 2006
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    11
    Occupation:
    IT
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Sorry I don't use hibernation, but S3 stand-by works ok with encrypted channels.

    The recent SVNbuilds (later than 16/6) have improved the stability of DVB drastically.
     
  10. hansdegit

    hansdegit Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Database specialist
    Location:
    Schagen, The Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Nice to know!

    BTW: I installed a Belkin FireWire/USB adapter last friday and that also helped a lot. I got rid of my Conceptronic FW adapter (thanks Infinityloop!); it seems that the VIA chipset is -eh- not helping in stability issues.

    This Belkin adapter has a Texas Instruments chipset, works like a charm!
     
  11. SweMart
    • Premium Supporter

    SweMart MP Donator

    Joined:
    March 25, 2006
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    11
    Occupation:
    IT
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    The firewire instability can also be cured by disabling the firewire networking device in the device manager. The swedish D-E distributor has a nice howto:
    http://www.tystpc.nu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=496

    It's in swedish but you get the idea if you have a look at the pictures :)
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!