Another TVService lost issue...

Discussion in '1.1.x and SVN Builds' started by mrspock, October 16, 2010.

  1. mrspock

    mrspock Portal Pro

    Joined:
    September 14, 2008
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    20
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Madrid
    Ratings:
    +33 / 0
    Home Country:
    Spain Spain
    Show System Specs
    MediaPortal Version: 1.1.1
    MediaPortal Skin: Blue3 wide
    Windows Version: W7 pro 64b
    CPU Type: Intel core 2, 2.40GHz
    HDD: Western Digital 1Tb
    Memory: 2Gb
    Motherboard: Intel DG965WH
    Video Card: Nvidia GeForce 6600
    Video Card Driver: 8.17.11.9713
    Sound Card: motherboard
    Sound Card AC3:
    Sound Card Driver: High Definition Audio 6.1.7600.16385
    1. TV Card: Pinnacle Dual PCI DVBT
    1. TV Card Type: DVB-T
    1. TV Card Driver: 4.2.0.0
    2. TV Card: Technisat Skystar 2
    2. TV Card Type: DVB-S
    2. TV Card Driver: 4.6.0
    3. TV Card:
    3. TV Card Type:
    3. TV Card Driver:
    4. TV Card:
    4. TV Card Type:
    4. TV Card Driver:
    MPEG2 Video Codec: MS DTV-DVD Video Decoder
    MPEG2 Audio Codec: ffdshow
    h.264 Video Codec: MainConcept AVC
    Satelite/CableTV Provider: 19.2ºE Astra, 28.2ºE Eurobird, 30ºW Hispasat, 13ºE Hot Bird
    HTPC Case: Thermaltake Bach
    Cooling:
    Power Supply:
    Remote: imon 7.85.0222 (firm 0x30)
    TV: Loewe
    TV - HTPC Connection: S-video

    I have seen a few post about TVService being lost, but they are from older MP versions, or they occur while using MP.
    My error only happens after wake up from suspend, so I decided to open a new thread. I will try to explain it better:

    During normal use, MP works fine and never losts TVService. But quite often (not always), when MP wake up from suspend to EPG grabbing or to record an scheduled TV program or because I manually switch the PC on, a message box appears: "TVService have been lost" (in Spanish).

    The effect is that this message keeps on screen, and what happens then vary:
    1. Sometimes, I hit the ok button and then I can use MP normally.
    2. But sometimes, MP hangs and then I have to press Alt+F4 to exit MP and run it again (without restarting the PC).
    3. And very few times, I have to reboot computer.
    And of course, if a recording is scheduled it is not recorded properly.

    So it seems that the TVService is still running properly (cases 1 & 2), but MP is not able to reconnect to it. If this is the case, would it be possible to make that MPs keep trying to reconnect to TVService several times and if successful, just close that message box? If no, it could restart the PC...

    I have the TVService configured at Windows to restart if it is stopped.

    This afternoon I was trying to reproduce another bug, and this happened again when I manually wake up the PC, so I have "fresh" logs. If you look at logs, it happened at around 20:34.

    I also have found that there is an event error in Windows at that time (sorry, but it is in Spanish):

    Code (Text):
    1. Nombre de registro:Application
    2. Origen:        Application Error
    3. Fecha:         16/10/2010 20:34:32
    4. Id. del evento:1000
    5. Categoría de la tarea:(100)
    6. Nivel:         Error
    7. Palabras clave:Clásico
    8. Usuario:       No disponible
    9. Equipo:        HT-PC
    10. Descripción:
    11. Nombre de la aplicación con errores: TVService.exe, versión: 1.1.1.0, marca de tiempo: 0x4ca57350
    12. Nombre del módulo con errores: Sky2PCAVSrc.ax, versión: 4.6.0.9999, marca de tiempo: 0x4bb26ea9
    13. Código de excepción: 0xc0000005
    14. Desplazamiento de errores: 0x0000c062
    15. Id. del proceso con errores: 0x%9
    16. Hora de inicio de la aplicación con errores: 0x%10
    17. Ruta de acceso de la aplicación con errores: %11
    18. Ruta de acceso del módulo con errores: %12
    19. Id. del informe: %13
    20. XML de evento:
    21. <Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
    22.   <System>
    23.     <Provider Name="Application Error" />
    24.     <EventID Qualifiers="0">1000</EventID>
    25.     <Level>2</Level>
    26.     <Task>100</Task>
    27.     <Keywords>0x80000000000000</Keywords>
    28.     <TimeCreated SystemTime="2010-10-16T18:34:32.000000000Z" />
    29.     <EventRecordID>2395</EventRecordID>
    30.     <Channel>Application</Channel>
    31.     <Computer>HT-PC</Computer>
    32.     <Security />
    33.   </System>
    34.   <EventData>
    35.     <Data>TVService.exe</Data>
    36.     <Data>1.1.1.0</Data>
    37.     <Data>4ca57350</Data>
    38.     <Data>Sky2PCAVSrc.ax</Data>
    39.     <Data>4.6.0.9999</Data>
    40.     <Data>4bb26ea9</Data>
    41.     <Data>c0000005</Data>
    42.     <Data>0000c062</Data>
    43.   </EventData>
    44. </Event>
    If any developer could have a look to my logs to try to find something, I will be very gratefull. And if you need any further information, please do not hesitate in asking me.

    Thank you for all :D.


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. melstig

    melstig Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 16, 2006
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Umea
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Do you have a static or a dynamic IP-address on your system? I had some major problems when my single-seat-system returned from suspend when having DHCP IP-address. The lease on my DHCP-server was 1h and when MP was asleep for more than 1h it got a new IP-address, then MySQL or TVServer lost connection and got rather strange errors.

    melstig
     
  4. jameson_uk
    • Team MediaPortal

    jameson_uk Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 27, 2005
    Messages:
    7,258
    Likes Received:
    2,228
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Data Warehousing Consultant
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +2,405 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Looking at the errors it looks like it failed

    which would tie in with this crash
    Code (Text):
    1. <Data>Sky2PCAVSrc.ax</Data>
    This would appear to suggest it is actually the skystar2 filter which has crashed

    Are you using the latest drivers?

    This ties in with some errors in TV service which restarts just after this
    Code (Text):
    1. 2010-10-16 20:35:37.842773 [(5)]: TV service: Starting
    but it looks like this happend after your machine went into standby for about two minutes? Have you set the restart TVservice on resume option?

    Also are you using any firewall which might be blocking connections?

    Finally I noticed an issue about not being able to connect to database, could you just check your database
    Open up a command prompt (as admin if Vista / Win7)
    navigate to MySQL Bin folder (is C:\\Program Files\\MySQL\\MySQL Server 5.1\\bin for me) and enter
    Code (Text):
    1. mysqlcheck --user=root --pass=MediaPortal --auto-repair MPTVDB
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. mrspock

    mrspock Portal Pro

    Joined:
    September 14, 2008
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    20
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Madrid
    Ratings:
    +33 / 0
    Home Country:
    Spain Spain
    Show System Specs
    Lots of thanks for your kind help.

    melstig: I have a DHCP address. I will try a static one...

    jameson_uk: I completely restart my system on September (previous HD died), and I downloaded latest drivers for everything. The skystar2 driver is 4.6.0, from 17-05-2010. I have just checked the TechniSat website and this is still the last driver.
    Next time I get the error, I will try to watch one of the sat channels to see if it is alive...
    In my test, I wait a couple of minutes to wake up the system, but other times it was sleeping hours.
    I don't have set the restart TVService on resume. I will try it...
    I don't have any firewall, except the Windows 7 firewall. My antivirus system is Microsoft Security Essentials, and I don't think it blocks connections.
    I run the SQL command and it reported everything OK.

    So I will try in turn the two things you have suggested (static IP, restarting TVService), and I will report here my results. It may take a while as it is a random error not happening every day.

    Thanks again for reading all my long logs :D
     
  6. mrspock

    mrspock Portal Pro

    Joined:
    September 14, 2008
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    20
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Madrid
    Ratings:
    +33 / 0
    Home Country:
    Spain Spain
    Show System Specs
    Just a quick answer to tell anybody interested what it is happening:
    Before trying these things, I disabled the EPG grabbing from sat channels. And the error never happenned again.
    So I think that it is clear that there is some problem between the skystar2 filter and TVService. When the skystar2 filter crashes, it provoques TVService crash.
    So I think that there is also a TVService robustness issue.
    I cannot keep testing it because other issues arrived (https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/...scheduled-recordings-other-rare-issues-90034/). As soon as these new issues are solved, I will be back to this one.
     
  7. bounguine

    bounguine Portal Pro

    Joined:
    November 7, 2005
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    15
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    executive director + project manager
    Location:
    St.Petersburg
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0
    Home Country:
    Russian Federation Russian Federation
    Show System Specs
    Hmm...
    I also had lots of "TVServer is lost" problems on resuming with all 1.1.* versions.
    To be frank, TVServer never worked correctly.
    Moving to MediaPortal 1.2.0 ALPHA solved my problems.
    I also have SS2, dynamic IP and DVB EPG turned on, except for "when idle".
    Unfortunately, now I can't listen to music
     
  8. mrspock

    mrspock Portal Pro

    Joined:
    September 14, 2008
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    20
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Madrid
    Ratings:
    +33 / 0
    Home Country:
    Spain Spain
    Show System Specs
    bounguine: Could you tell us what version of SS2 drivers do you have in your system?
     
  9. bounguine

    bounguine Portal Pro

    Joined:
    November 7, 2005
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    15
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    executive director + project manager
    Location:
    St.Petersburg
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0
    Home Country:
    Russian Federation Russian Federation
    Show System Specs
  10. mrspock

    mrspock Portal Pro

    Joined:
    September 14, 2008
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    20
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Madrid
    Ratings:
    +33 / 0
    Home Country:
    Spain Spain
    Show System Specs
    Thanks, but... my WDM driver from Technisat is 4.6.0.9999 dated 28/April/2010 (obtained from Device Manager). I don't understand why numbers are completely different. :confused:
     
  11. bounguine

    bounguine Portal Pro

    Joined:
    November 7, 2005
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    15
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    executive director + project manager
    Location:
    St.Petersburg
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0
    Home Country:
    Russian Federation Russian Federation
    Show System Specs
    I gave you the number of the dustributive from their site.
    What you posted is a driver version (mine is 4.5.0).
    Anyway, I don't think that is a driver issue.
    TVServer stoppped working when I upgraded from 1.0.2 to 1.1.*
    And then started working in 1.2.*
    But I didn't change SS2 driver.
    Moreover when downgrading from 1.1.* to 1.0.2 also solved the problem
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!