ASIO music playback

Discussion in 'Listen Music' started by KevL, May 25, 2010.

  1. KevL

    KevL Portal Pro

    Joined:
    March 3, 2005
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    1
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    MediaPortal Version: 1.1.0RC3
    MediaPortal Skin: Monochrome 3.3
    Windows Version: winxp mce2005 build 2600.xpsp080413-2111: SP3
    CPU Type: Athlon 4850e
    HDD: 32GB SSD + 2x Samsung Spinpoint F1 1000GB
    Memory: 4GB DDR2
    Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-MA78GM-S2H Bios F7
    Video Card: ATI HD4550
    Video Card Driver: Catlayst 9.3
    Sound Card: M Audio Transit USB optical SPDIF OUT
    Sound Card AC3: Transit USB optical SPDIF out
    Sound Card Driver:
    1. TV Card: Blackgold BTG 3540 6in1
    1. TV Card Type: DVB-T x 2 , DVB-S x 2
    1. TV Card Driver: 6.0.0.25
    2. TV Card:
    2. TV Card Type:
    2. TV Card Driver:
    3. TV Card:
    3. TV Card Type:
    3. TV Card Driver:
    4. TV Card:
    4. TV Card Type:
    4. TV Card Driver:
    MPEG2 Video Codec: Cyberlink PDVD8
    MPEG2 Audio Codec: MPC MPA SPDIF out via Transit USB
    h.264 Video Codec: Cyberlink PDVD8
    Satelite/CableTV Provider: Digital Terrestrial, Multisat motorised system
    HTPC Case: Antec Fusion
    Cooling: Zalmann (huge copper thing)
    Power Supply: 320W Antec Fusion
    Remote: Harmony via USB UIRT
    TV: Pioneer PDP-508XD
    TV - HTPC Connection: HDMI



    Thought I would give ASIO music output a try. I have an M-Audio Transit USB which has asio drivers.

    I can select this device in the ASIO tab of the Music section in the config app.

    When I run MP and attempt to play music with the ASIO output device selected, MP locks up. Only a reboot will recover the system.

    M-Audio drivers are the latest version and I think M-Audio make lots of pro gear where ASIO is standard - so one would expect it to work.

    Are there additional steps to be taken to make the BASS player output via ASIO? The MP manual is not forthcoming on this issue.


    Kev
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. jameson_uk
    • Premium Supporter

    jameson_uk Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 27, 2005
    Messages:
    7,258
    Likes Received:
    2,228
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Data Warehousing Consultant
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +2,405 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Try the PureAudio plugin. I have never used ASIO in MP directly but always through that plugin which works really well
     
  4. KevL

    KevL Portal Pro

    Joined:
    March 3, 2005
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    1
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    I'll give that a try. Would be interested to know if I should expect the ASIO output setting to actually work though (without Pureaudio). It never worked for me in the past, maybe there is a bug.


    K
     
  5. jameson_uk
    • Premium Supporter

    jameson_uk Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 27, 2005
    Messages:
    7,258
    Likes Received:
    2,228
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Data Warehousing Consultant
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +2,405 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    There is something in the back of my mind about the Transit playing up with ASIO playback (I looked at getting one a while ago but something put me off....) I think if you try with PureAudio it should see if the problem is wider than just the BASS implementation in MP.

    I am assuming ASIO is working for you in other players? (AIUI MP uses fairly tight timings that can cause issues with some hardware but I am not sure what the implications of this are)
     
  6. KevL

    KevL Portal Pro

    Joined:
    March 3, 2005
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    1
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    I just set-up asio in foobar 2000 on transit USB. It works flawlessly. It even sounds a tad cleaner.


    Is anyone else successfully using ASIO playback from Bass plyer in MP?
     
  7. KevL

    KevL Portal Pro

    Joined:
    March 3, 2005
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    1
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    finally got this to work by using asio4all version 2.9.

    It seems MP doesn't like the transit native asio interface.

    K
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!