1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ATI 690G/x1250 problems

Discussion in 'General Support' started by boxrun, October 20, 2007.

  1. boxrun

    boxrun Portal Member

    Joined:
    December 17, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    TV-Server Version:
    MediaPortal Version: 0.2.3.0 RC2 and RC3
    MediaPortal Skin: BleTwo/default
    Windows Version: WinXP MCE 2005
    CPU Type: AMD BE-2350
    HDD: Seagate baracuda 72000.10 500 GB
    Memory: 2 GB 667mhz
    Motherboard: GA MA690G-S2H
    Motherboard Chipset: AMD/ATI 690G
    Motherboard Bios: F3a
    Video Card: onboard ATI x1250
    Video Card Driver: 7.10
    Sound Card:
    Sound Card AC3:
    Sound Card Driver:
    1. TV Card: ASUS P7131
    1. TV Card Type:
    1. TV Card Driver:
    2. TV Card:
    2. TV Card Type:
    2. TV Card Driver:
    3. TV Card:
    3. TV Card Type:
    3. TV Card Driver:
    4. TV Card:
    4. TV Card Type:
    4. TV Card Driver:
    MPEG2 Video Codec:
    MPEG2 Audio Codec:
    Satelite/CableTV Provider:
    HTPC Case: Ahananix MCE 302
    Cooling:
    Power Supply:
    Remote:
    TV:
    TV - HTPC Connection:





    Due to a hardware failure and HTPC rebuild with new hardware I thought I would try 0.2.3.0 instead of 0.2.2.0 but have problems similar to ;
    https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/mediaportal_freezes_randomly-t27793.html?highlight=ati
    https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/mediaportal_0_2_3_0_rc2_freeze-t29252.html?t=29252&highlight=ati

    Basically 0.2.2.0 works fine with new mainboard, 0.2.3.0 RC2/3 do not. After a short period 30 seconds, or after a few slections via menu , ie music, select song, view playlist etc Media portal is semi- non responding, music or TV still play, visualizations show, but the media portal interface is non-responsive, I can stop/pause music etc but not exit to home menu or show any screen activity for media portal. checking through task manager media portal is 'running' not 'not responding'.
    (Not sure what the feature is, but selected via imon remote, bookmark button) When media portal brings up OSD with scan line informing of FPS, drope frames etc you can see all is normal then that too freezes at the moment the problem occours.
    I have tried exisitng install and fresh install. I am using ATI 7.10 driver as it is the only MCE certified one (the wife uses MS media centre). Other people have made comments about 7.1, 7.2, 7.9 etc.
    Any insight or advice would be appreciated.

    :mad: I knew i should have stuck with nvidia
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. philpem

    philpem Portal Member

    Joined:
    August 27, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    I can confirm this on both RC3 and the latest SVN running on XP Pro. The BlueTwo Wide skin doesn't seem to do this often, but Xface and SpinSafe Resolve will die pretty reliably. I can also confirm it happens with the ATI Catalyst 7.6, 7.8 and 7.10 gfx drivers.
    MP error log shows lots of DirectX errors... will try and provoke it and post the logs in a bit.

    boxrun: Amen on the nVidia comment... I installed 7.10 and Catalyst Control Centre won't work. Lots of .NET errors. Backed off to driver 7.10 and CCC 7.9 and it's fine...
    You'll also want to stop the ATI Hotkey monitor service - this has a bug that causes it to reset the machine's power management settings to the defaults.. including "monitor off after 20 minutes". Not exactly good on a PVR.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. boxrun

    boxrun Portal Member

    Joined:
    December 17, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    I've managed to get it working ok (so far so good) with driver 7.2 but only with CCC not running. I will try some more combinations. Thx for the tip with the hotkey monitor !
     
  5. philpem

    philpem Portal Member

    Joined:
    August 27, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    boxrun: Yeah, I searched the forum and found the references to v7.2 being the last MP-friendly version of Catalyst. I've downgraded my HTPC to 7.2, turned Windows Media Video Acceleration off in CCC (otherwise WMV videos won't play - weird colours and macroblocking) and everything seems to work fine now.

    Had a few issues with MP connecting to TVServer but failing to connect to the database -- I solved this by copying 'gentle.config' from TVS3's folder (under Program Files) into MP's root folder, over the copy that was already there. MP made some comments in the log to the effect of said file being corrupt...

    Now I just need to figure out how to get HD to behave itself - sometimes if I switch from BBC HD to something else on the satellite tuner, MP claims to have switched, but BBC HD is still being played back.
     
  6. mmf
    • Premium Supporter

    mmf MP Donator

    Joined:
    August 29, 2007
    Messages:
    100
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    Hi, I have also an 690G / X1250 - board, and it's running fine with Catalyst 7.9 and RC3.

    The solution for the unresponsive GUI is finding and changing every occurency of "flipy=true" to "flipy=false".

    Hope this helps, best regards
     
    • Like Like x 3
  7. charli181
    • Team MediaPortal

    charli181 Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    August 3, 2007
    Messages:
    790
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    computer telephony integration senior specialist
    Location:
    Sydney
    Ratings:
    +52 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    What does this Flipy parameter do???
     
  8. kiesow

    kiesow Portal Pro

    Joined:
    March 19, 2007
    Messages:
    567
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    I love you! ;-)
    That bug is so nasty and I wasn't able to localize it. Now I can disable the service and be never prompted again for password after hibernate. Great.
    Do you have an URL to a description of the bug?
     
  9. THDBASED

    THDBASED Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 30, 2006
    Messages:
    469
    Occupation:
    Student
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    Belgium Belgium
    I am using the same board and using Catalyst 7.2. Do a search on the forum, this is the only version that works the way it should.
     
  10. tlavie

    tlavie New Member

    Joined:
    October 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    where do you find the parameter "flipy=false", can you be more specific?
    Thanks!!!
     
  11. rav994

    rav994 Portal Member

    Joined:
    June 23, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    It is in the XML files of the skin you are using.
    Yust right click on the Skin folder and search for "flipy=true".
    It is alot of work though.

    I have uploaded the skin i used with skiny removed to rapidshare.
    This is Spinsafe revolve

    http://rapidshare.com/files/66253420/SpinSafe_Revolve_skinY.rar.html

    This works fine for me with the x1250 gigabyte board and catalist 7.10
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Like Us On Facebook

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!