ATT ALL AUSSIES - Need cable TV support

Discussion in 'other Input / Output interfaces' started by vvulture, June 24, 2008.

  1. vvulture
    • Premium Supporter

    vvulture MP Donator

    Joined:
    June 3, 2006
    Messages:
    477
    Likes Received:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Electronic Security Technician
    Location:
    Sydney
    Ratings:
    +7 / 1
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    Hi all...
    I am looking at getting digital cable tv in Sydney.
    What i would like to do is install a DVB-S card in my server that will allow me to get cable TV via MediaPortal.



    Have any of you fellow Aussies been successful in doing this ? and if so could you help me out ?

    thanks heaps..
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Taipan
    • Team MediaPortal

    Taipan Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    February 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,075
    Likes Received:
    22
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    Show System Specs
    I am a bit confused - do you want to connect to Foxtel pay TV via coax cable (which requires a DVB-C card) or do you want to connect to a pay TV satellite dish (which requires a DVB-S card)?

    Either way, there are no legal DVB-C or DVB-S cards that work with the Australian pay TV providers, that I am aware of ... :(
     
  4. vvulture
    • Premium Supporter

    vvulture MP Donator

    Joined:
    June 3, 2006
    Messages:
    477
    Likes Received:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Electronic Security Technician
    Location:
    Sydney
    Ratings:
    +7 / 1
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    Thanks Taipan,

    Sorry for not being more descriptive.
    I am (was) looking at subscribing to Foxtel Digital Satelite, but you are correct. There are no "Legal" ways to do this... yet..

    Anyway, thanks for the help.
     
  5. Uncle Woja

    Uncle Woja Portal Member

    Joined:
    October 12, 2006
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    You can do it. You need a card with a CI slot. Like This Then you need a CAM Like This

    Then you stick your Foxtel/Optus/Austar smart card into the CAM and voila! Australian digital pay TV on your PC.

    Now. I haven't done this so I don't know if it works or how well it works. I'd like to do this by going multi-room with Foxtel buy money doesn't allow this atm. The CAM I linked to does not guarantee that it will work with Aussie pay TV companies. You need to find a CAM (and I believe they're out there) that will handle NDS Videoguard encryption. A quick google search indicates that the Dragon CAM WILL work.

    Now. Whether or not this is legal I know not.
     
  6. vvulture
    • Premium Supporter

    vvulture MP Donator

    Joined:
    June 3, 2006
    Messages:
    477
    Likes Received:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Electronic Security Technician
    Location:
    Sydney
    Ratings:
    +7 / 1
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    Thanks for the info uncle... seems like a plan. :)
     
  7. o0X0o

    o0X0o Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 19, 2007
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    IT
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Just wondering if anyone has tried this yet...?
     
  8. wazm
    • Premium Supporter

    wazm MP Donator

    Joined:
    June 2, 2008
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    2
    Occupation:
    Website Manager for the local health service.
    Location:
    Bathurst
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    From reading here and various other forums, this no longer works with Foxtel, Optus or Austar as they changed their encryption method to prevent people from using anything other than their supplied box.

    This solution does however work fine with Select TV as I have the card above with a cam in my media portal and it works perfectly.

    The card and cam were supplied from Brisbane so you may be able to look up stores in Brisbane and talk to them however I am sure you will only get Select TV and FTA from satellites in in Australia.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!