[TV] - Automatically Change Channel on Program Reminder | Page 2

Discussion in 'Improvement Suggestions' started by vapourEyes, June 29, 2016.

  1. vapourEyes

    vapourEyes Portal Member

    Joined:
    July 31, 2013
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    10
    Ratings:
    +12 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    --- Post updated ---
    It may not be as clean as it should be. I hope this helps though

    Thanks for your quick response.
    --- Post updated ---
    I thought I posted the code here an hour ago.
    Will pastebin the code.

    It is client side only. It exists within TvNotifyManager.cs

    The code can be found on pastebin, here: http://pastebin.com/bU5MLgeP

    private bool NotifyChannelChange(TVProgramDescription tvProg) {}



    Is a new method added to TvNotifyManager.cs.
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,447
    Likes Received:
    1,102
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,365 / 21
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    If it's client only, I believe that an addition could be made to the client GUI.
     
  4. vapourEyes

    vapourEyes Portal Member

    Joined:
    July 31, 2013
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    10
    Ratings:
    +12 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Yes, thank you HTPCSourcer.

    I think a UI choice can be surfaced to the user. Then they would have the choice of behaviors.
     
  5. vapourEyes

    vapourEyes Portal Member

    Joined:
    July 31, 2013
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    10
    Ratings:
    +12 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    I just had another thought. I could set a bookmark, at the program change.
    That way someone who wants to go back in the buffer to a previous 'switched to' program can use the skip buttons...
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. regeszter
    • Team MediaPortal

    regeszter Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    October 29, 2005
    Messages:
    5,335
    Likes Received:
    2,863
    Ratings:
    +5,151 / 18
    Home Country:
    Hungary Hungary
    Buffer for live tv is an interesting thing.
     
  7. vapourEyes

    vapourEyes Portal Member

    Joined:
    July 31, 2013
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    10
    Ratings:
    +12 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    I was hoping to extend the current experiment by showing a real-time countdown to the channel change.
    Using tvNotifyDlg.DoModal(), in the current implementation does not appear to support this ?

    Also, to get the 'Pause on channel change' functionality working, I need to register for an OnChannelChanged() fired event.
    Right now I implement a crude thread-yielding method with a timeout to wait for the channel change, with mixed results.
    Switching from an HD channel to SD channel or vice-versa, struggles to pause correctly. If I could register for the official OnChannelChanged() event I could pause at the right time ?

    Thanks.
     
  8. vapourEyes

    vapourEyes Portal Member

    Joined:
    July 31, 2013
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    10
    Ratings:
    +12 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    I have updated the code.
    I now call a thread sleeping method, with a g_player.Process() call within to pause properly after program change, if a user has left the system paused.

    I have submitted this code to pastebin again.

    Thanks.

    http://pastebin.com/tqjyuaEw
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. regeszter
    • Team MediaPortal

    regeszter Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    October 29, 2005
    Messages:
    5,335
    Likes Received:
    2,863
    Ratings:
    +5,151 / 18
    Home Country:
    Hungary Hungary
    Can you create a patch?
     
  10. vapourEyes

    vapourEyes Portal Member

    Joined:
    July 31, 2013
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    10
    Ratings:
    +12 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    I can try that if its better for you. Happy to help.
    Need some time to do this, but will try.
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  11. vapourEyes

    vapourEyes Portal Member

    Joined:
    July 31, 2013
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    10
    Ratings:
    +12 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    I should modify the UI to surface this option to the user.
    I'm very newbie on the MediaPortal codebase, so you may have to bear with me.
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!