Autoplay for SVCD/VCD (1 Viewer)

O

~ok|

hi,

this patch does nthing better than the filter, it is in fact completing it.
Sorry for the description because I made it in a hurry. I posted a reply in the sourceforge patch page to (try to) clarify what the filter and the patch do. Please tell me if it's still unclear.

In a nutshell, I wanted to add what has been done with Video DVDs into MediaPortal, regarding user convenience/comfort, for (Super) Video CD. a priori the filter is not meant to do that.

But I'm no VCD expert and this only based on my own readings and experiences. I don't own S/VCDs myself.

I'm a bit surprised with the expereince you had with the filter, were you able to get VCD autoplay in MediaPortal when registered?

mPod

Portal Pro
January 26, 2005
Berlin
Home Country
Germany Germany
Well, iirc I only used it once yet. I was able to hit enter on a SVCD and it started right away.

Hrmmm... what now? If you say you don't really have experience on (S)VCD, I'd prefer to keep the filter method. Can't tell much on that topic either, I just know that the filter worked for me and for many users I recommended it to without any problems. I'm afraid that putting in your code will bring up some bugs cause maybe you didn't take all (S)VCD specifications into account.

O

~ok|

you're right, if it works don't change it. But I believe that other methods must be put into action to have autoplay w/in mp, I've tested this filter quite extensively to be fairly sure. On the other hand, InterVideo or CyberLink's filters seem to.

Anyway VCD base of users is really low.

So... drop the patch.

thanks for your dedication and patience.

P.S. My spec. came from http://www.vcdimager.org/pub/vcdimager/manuals/0.7/vcdimager.html#SEC4

TesterBoy

Portal Pro
July 10, 2006
Lower Hutt
Home Country
New Zealand New Zealand
~ok| - Thanks for your work on this - I've been getting VC# etc installed and everything else set up so I can test it...