Satelite/CableTV Provider:
    HTPC Case: Silverstone LC-16
    Cooling:
    Power Supply:
    Remote: iMON
    TV: Philips 42PES00001
    TV - HTPC Connection: Hdmi

Hi All,

After I installed MP 1.1 I noticed that the osd (the one you see when you hit pause) for tv and video (in blue3wide) has moved from the top to the bottom of the screen, but I do like to get it back at the top.
    Which skinfile should I modify to do that?

Larzon

MP Donator
  • Premium Supporter
  • January 16, 2010
    Phoenix, Arizona
    Home Country
    United States of America United States of America
    Proceed with caution! :eek:

I have limited experience modifying skin xml files, but I can tell you this can become a huge time investment. For your issue, it would be a simple matter if the absolute position of the OSD was specified in one place and then the elements within it used relative coordinates. But it isn't set up that way. Also, you may find there is an unexpected consequence of your actions, and then you have to change something in another xml file, if you can figure out which file that is...

If you're up to the challenge, I suggest:

1. Make a copy of the entire skin you want to modify, and name it something like Blue3WideMod1 . This makes it really easy to switch back to the original skin if you need to, and you will always have the original files available if you need to compare.
    (To find the skin folders, go to MePo Config and click User Config Files at the very top.)

2. In MePo Config, select the new skin: Blue3WideMod1 .

3. Get one of the free xml editors, which makes editing much easier and less prone to human error. Editing in Notepad is possible but can make you go insane. You only need a simple xml editor, not one of the huge full-featured ones. (In Windows XP I use XML Notepad 2007 from M$, but it doesn't work in Windows 7, probably the same for Vista.)