cannot learn IR codes - "failed to learn IR" (1 Viewer)

JulianBuss

Portal Pro
November 14, 2004
Hi,

I'm new to the MCE stuff and I'm trying your MCE Replacement Plugin.
I want to learn IR codes. But as soon as I press the button "learn IR" I get the message "failed to learn IR". There is no delay, no chance to press a button on the remote. The message comes instantly.

What can I do to debug this?

JulianBuss

Portal Pro
November 14, 2004
there are no other sources. There is no red light at the receiver indicating that it receives any signal.
Nevertheless, the "failed to learn IR" message comes instantly after clciking on the "learn IR" button.

JulianBuss

Portal Pro
November 14, 2004
and btw: I'm not sure, who is responsible for learning IR signals, the big box with the red light or the small sensors connected with a cable to the box?

and-81

Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • March 7, 2005
    Melbourne
    Home Country
    Australia Australia
    The big box does the learning. Do you know if you have a Microsoft first-party device, or is it a third party device?

Are you running Windows XP or Vista?

Also, try unplugging the device from the usb port and plugging it back in, sometimes they get confused.

Cheers,

andyd

MP Donator
  • Premium Supporter
  • February 2, 2007
    Auckland
    Home Country
    New Zealand New Zealand
    and btw: I'm not sure, who is responsible for learning IR signals, the big box with the red light or the small sensors connected with a cable to the box?
    I found the same when learnign, but I clicked on learn again and it started working. So try clicking the learn again if it fails.

JulianBuss

Portal Pro
    November 14, 2004
    I'm sorry to say, but re-plugging the device did not help. I also disconnected another infrared-keyboard - does not make any difference, too.

Behaviour is still the same: clicking on "learn IR" button results in "failed to learn IR" message without any delay.

Any other hints?

and-81