cannot learn IR codes - "failed to learn IR"

Discussion in 'IR Server Suite (IRSS)' started by JulianBuss, April 15, 2007.

  1. JulianBuss

    JulianBuss Portal Pro

    Joined:
    November 14, 2004
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Hi,

    I'm new to the MCE stuff and I'm trying your MCE Replacement Plugin.
    I want to learn IR codes. But as soon as I press the button "learn IR" I get the message "failed to learn IR". There is no delay, no chance to press a button on the remote. The message comes instantly.



    What can I do to debug this?
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Spragleknas
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    Spragleknas Administrator

    Joined:
    December 21, 2005
    Messages:
    9,472
    Likes Received:
    1,385
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Occupied
    Location:
    Located
    Ratings:
    +1,892 / 12
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    Show System Specs
    Make sure that the receiver is not receiving signals from other sources.
     
  4. JulianBuss

    JulianBuss Portal Pro

    Joined:
    November 14, 2004
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    there are no other sources. There is no red light at the receiver indicating that it receives any signal.
    Nevertheless, the "failed to learn IR" message comes instantly after clciking on the "learn IR" button.
     
  5. JulianBuss

    JulianBuss Portal Pro

    Joined:
    November 14, 2004
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    and btw: I'm not sure, who is responsible for learning IR signals, the big box with the red light or the small sensors connected with a cable to the box?
     
  6. and-81
    • Premium Supporter

    and-81 Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    March 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,257
    Likes Received:
    183
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    IT Consultant/Developer
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Ratings:
    +183 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    The big box does the learning. Do you know if you have a Microsoft first-party device, or is it a third party device?

    Are you running Windows XP or Vista?

    Also, try unplugging the device from the usb port and plugging it back in, sometimes they get confused.

    Cheers,
     
  7. andyd
    • Premium Supporter

    andyd MP Donator

    Joined:
    February 2, 2007
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    IT Professional
    Location:
    Auckland
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    I found the same when learnign, but I clicked on learn again and it started working. So try clicking the learn again if it fails.
     
  8. JulianBuss

    JulianBuss Portal Pro

    Joined:
    November 14, 2004
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    and-81: Windows XP, Microsoft device. I will trying re-plugging the device.
    andyd: I can click as many times as I want - no difference :)
     
  9. JulianBuss

    JulianBuss Portal Pro

    Joined:
    November 14, 2004
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    I'm sorry to say, but re-plugging the device did not help. I also disconnected another infrared-keyboard - does not make any difference, too.

    Behaviour is still the same: clicking on "learn IR" button results in "failed to learn IR" message without any delay.

    Any other hints?
     
  10. and-81
    • Premium Supporter

    and-81 Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    March 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,257
    Likes Received:
    183
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    IT Consultant/Developer
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Ratings:
    +183 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    Ok, let's see ...

    Are you using the standard Microsoft driver or are you using the MCE Replacement driver?

    Is your remote an American or European/Australian remote?

    What other IR devices do you have installed?

    Does the plugin work for remote button presses?

    Have you ever tried the MyBlaster plugin? If so, did it work?

    I might get you to try a new plugin I'm working on if we can't this working within a couple of days...

    Also, if you could supply some log files, your mediaportal.log and error.log that would help too.

    Cheers,
     
  11. JulianBuss

    JulianBuss Portal Pro

    Joined:
    November 14, 2004
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    - standard MS driver (that means: I have XP SP2 and I don't have any driver installed, just plugged in the MCE device via USB).
    - american or europe: don't know. Labels on the remote are in english. On the back it says "model 1039"
    - I have a infrared keyboard (see http://www.mediacenterblog.eu/web/juliusbuss/blog.nsf/dx/additional-hardware.htm for an image). But I tested with keyboard unplugged, so that should not be the problem.
    - yes, works when I press a button on the remote. But somewhat weird: when I press for example the "right" button on the remote, Mediaportal jumps two times to the right.
    - no, I didn't tried myBlaster

    I noticed funny things during my last tests: I entered setup, disabled the MP MCE support, closed setup. Opened setup again, enabled MCE replacement plugin, opened IR commands, edited on existing command, pressed "learn IR" and learnng worked.
    Then I created a new command, pressed "learn IR" and again the "failed to learn IR" message came instantly.

    Then I closed setup, opened again, entered MCE replacement plugin configuration gain, then I could learn the 2nd command. Trying to relearn the first command failed again.

    Everytime I closed and reopened setup I can learn exactly one command. Then it fails again.

    The configuration log does not any related lines.
    No error log.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!