Can't Get full screen video

Discussion in 'Newcomers Forum' started by Nordby2321, November 18, 2008.

  1. Nordby2321

    Nordby2321 Portal Member

    Joined:
    November 18, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Hello,

    Im new to Media Portal and before I go out and buy a tv tuner card I wanted to test out everything else. I like MP because it allows me to play my .avi files and keeps all my videos in order..unlike WMC. But the major problem I'm having is that when I start watching a movie it does 2 things I Don't like:

    1. It takes about a minute to start while the screen flickers black.

    2. When it does start to run the video is tiny and small in the middle of the screen. I tried changing the aspect, zooming...

    The videos work perfectly in Windows Media Player but are complete surrounded by a black box in MP.

    Im using a 37" Flatscreen at the 1366x768 resolution. Can someone please help. Thank you


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Paranoid Delusion
    • Team MediaPortal

    Paranoid Delusion Moderation Manager

    Joined:
    June 13, 2005
    Messages:
    13,062
    Likes Received:
    1,481
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Electrical Engineer
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +1,482 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    What grapics card\chip, are you using latest drivers and finally codec used playing file.
     
  4. Nordby2321

    Nordby2321 Portal Member

    Joined:
    November 18, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    4 gigs of ram, Quad 2.4 cpu, geforce 8800gt, and the codec for the file I am unsure of. its most likely divx and its running on Vista x64 if that matters
     
  5. Paranoid Delusion
    • Team MediaPortal

    Paranoid Delusion Moderation Manager

    Joined:
    June 13, 2005
    Messages:
    13,062
    Likes Received:
    1,481
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Electrical Engineer
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +1,482 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Well it ain't a lack of power then :)

    Are you using EVR as renderer (MPConfig "expertmode top right" look for directshow control\renderer)
     
  6. Nordby2321

    Nordby2321 Portal Member

    Joined:
    November 18, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    ill have to get back to you on that one.... i'm at work so i can't really check that but later tonight i will check
     
  7. Nordby2321

    Nordby2321 Portal Member

    Joined:
    November 18, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    i think i figured it out... how do i change the default screen resolution... when i first start the screen res is 1088x614 and when i play a video it changes to 1388X768 or something near that, hence the screen blinking when i hit play.
     
  8. Nordby2321

    Nordby2321 Portal Member

    Joined:
    November 18, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!