Ceton InfiniTV Eth first time install on Win 8 Pro (1 Viewer)

Charles F

June 24, 2018
Home Country
United States of America United States of America
Cybersimian and Joecrow, I appreciate the feedback, but I have different reasons for moving forward to Windows 8:

1) Win 7 will no longer be supported in 2020, which means no more program updates or security updates. Any software
purchased from other vendors on Win 7 platform will no longer be supported as well. Microsoft is basically forcing Win 7 users
to migrate to Win 8 and Win 10, so after 2020 we really will have no choice. I am new to the HTPC realm, as there is a lot to learn,
and it would behoove me to go in that direction as it appears HTPC is the present and future.

2) Regarding Premium channels, I don't have any, I just record movies and TV shows on the basic cable channels. If I ever
reconsider ordering premium channels, knowing I cannot record movies is something I can probably live with.

3) I also use Kodi and I watch movies there, basically like watching movies on demand, no really any need to record.
I understand there is a Kodi plugin that can be installed on MP which I am very much interested.

So now that you have my reasons, I really need help in getting MP to work in my Win 8 system

Q1) At this point, am I better off installing MP2 vs MP1? Not really sure what the difference is, but I will go along with
whatever you recommend

Q2) Regarding my equipment, I have a Ceton InfinTV Ethernet box with cable card on Verizon FIOS provider.
I also have 2 Ceton Echo extenders which are basically ethernet appliances that serve as clients, these are not PC's.
To that point, do I need to install client/server configuration or standalone PC config? If client/server is required, how do I
go about doing that?

Q3) I need in the worst way to be able to get past this issue of my MP TV server configuration data not being saved.