[Approved] - Change "Edit Recording" to "Edit Schedule" (gb)

Discussion in 'Archive' started by doveman, October 15, 2011.

  1. doveman

    doveman Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,326
    Likes Received:
    166
    Ratings:
    +182 / 3
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    I felt the "Edit Recording" menu option (string id=637) when clicking on a scheduled recording in the EPG was a bit confusing, as it suggests you're going to actually edit the file, so I've changed it to "Edit Schedule" for myself and am submitting it here in case anyone else thinks this is a good idea, as suggested by mm1352000 in this thread

    I've never done this before, so I hope I've done it right :)


     

    Attached Files:

    • strings_en.xml
      File size:
      94.5 KB
      Uploaded:
      October 15, 2011
      Views:
      215
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. elliottmc
    • Team MediaPortal

    elliottmc Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    August 7, 2005
    Messages:
    14,927
    Likes Received:
    4,011
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cardiff, UK
    Ratings:
    +5,503 / 13
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Approving this.

    Should 638 be 'New schedule' ? I don't have access to a MP system with TV today, so I can't check.

    Mark
     
  4. pilehave
    • Premium Supporter

    pilehave Community Skin Designer

    Joined:
    April 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566
    Likes Received:
    500
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Technical consultant, marketing
    Location:
    Hornslet
    Ratings:
    +517 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    I would probably define a recording as something that has already occurred, and a schedule as a planned recording in the future. Poll! ;)
     
  5. elliottmc
    • Team MediaPortal

    elliottmc Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    August 7, 2005
    Messages:
    14,927
    Likes Received:
    4,011
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cardiff, UK
    Ratings:
    +5,503 / 13
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs

    That's the point.

    When is 638 used? If in the 'schedules' screen then it should be changed as well.
     
  6. doveman

    doveman Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,326
    Likes Received:
    166
    Ratings:
    +182 / 3
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    It's "New Recording" at the moment but I'm not sure where that appears. The menu just shows "Record" if the programme isn't already set to Record.

    I don't think "New Recording" has the same potential for confusion that "Edit Recording" does but it might be an idea to change it to keep things consistent.
     
  7. elliottmc
    • Team MediaPortal

    elliottmc Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    August 7, 2005
    Messages:
    14,927
    Likes Received:
    4,011
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cardiff, UK
    Ratings:
    +5,503 / 13
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Hopefully I can check this out later.

    The easiest way to check this would be to change it to something completely random so you can see where it is.

    I won't have access to a PC with TV plugin until this evening, so if someone else can find this it would help.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!