Changing Priority with Multiple cards does not change which card MP uses

Discussion in '0.2.0.0 Release Candidate 3 Release and CVS Bugs' started by Commodore 64, April 14, 2006.

  1. Commodore 64
    • Team MediaPortal

    Commodore 64 Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    June 20, 2005
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Windows Version: Windows XP SP2
    CPU Type: Pentium 4
    Memory: 1GB PC3200
    Motherboard: Asus P4PE800 Deluxe
    Motherboard Chipset: i865PE
    Motherboard Bios:
    Video Card: Gigabyte 6600GT
    Video Card Driver: 83.60
    Sound Card: Onboard
    Sound Card AC3: Optical Out
    Sound Card Driver:
    1. TV Card: Vbox DTA-150
    1. TV Card Type: ATSC
    1. TV Card Driver: BDA
    2. TV Card: Fusion 5 Lite
    2. TV Card Type: ATSC
    2. TV Card Driver: BDA
    Video Codec: NVidia Purevideo
    Audio Codec: Mpeg/AC3/DD...
    Satelite/CableTV Provider: OTA
    HTPC Case: Silverstone LC03V
    Power Supply: Silvertsone Strider 400w
    Remote: MCE USA
    TV: Philips 30PW8520 (30" Widescreen CRT)
    TV - HTPC Connection: Component

    While trying to do some testing, I set my Vbox card to Priority 1, and also set "use this card for viewing TV" and "use this card to record TV" to False.

    MediaPortal still used my Vbox card to watch TV.



    I highlighted a couple lines here: http://mpteam.pastebin.com/659565
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Taipan
    • Team MediaPortal

    Taipan Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    February 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,075
    Likes Received:
    22
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    Show System Specs
    I logged a similar bug report here, for 0.2RC1. However, it never got much attention...:(

    After a lot of testing (with two DVB-T cards), I came to the conclusion that the settings "Use this card for viewing TV", "Use this card for recording TV" are ignored and only the Priority setting is actually used to determine which card to use for viewing TV or recording TV.

    For example, if Card 1 is set to priority 10 and card 2 is set to priority 1, then Card 1 will always be the first card used for viewing or recording, irrespective of its "Purpose" settings.

    Similarly, Card 2 will always be used second, irrespective of its "Purpose" settings - for example, if Card 1 is already in use for recording, then Card 2 will be used for viewing, even though it has not been selected for viewing under "Purpose"....:confused:
     
  4. Commodore 64
    • Team MediaPortal

    Commodore 64 Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    June 20, 2005
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Hmm, I set the Priority for the Vbox to lowest, though, as well as changed the purpose.
     
  5. Taipan
    • Team MediaPortal

    Taipan Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    February 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,075
    Likes Received:
    22
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    Show System Specs
    And was the other card (presumably, set at Priority 10) already in use for recording?
     
  6. Commodore 64
    • Team MediaPortal

    Commodore 64 Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    June 20, 2005
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    No, I was not recording anything.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!