Client cannot record. Record Now button doesn't work

Discussion in 'Television (MyTV frontend and TV-Server)' started by argypak, April 11, 2009.

  1. argypak

    argypak Portal Pro

    Joined:
    November 21, 2007
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Berwick
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Hi all,



    After a Windows crash, I have installed this computer 5 times with no luck.
    everything works except the record now button on the clients. I cannot record at all on the client. If I load the client software on the server it works, but it seems to be that the record commands are not being recognised.

    Please help, I'm at my wits ends.:D

    Thanks in advance

    Argy

    TV-Server Version: 1.01
    MediaPortal Version: 1.01
    MediaPortal Skin: Blue 3
    Windows Version: SP3
    CPU Type: Intel Pentium D 945
    HDD: 1TB Seagate split 80GB for OS and rest for Movies, RAID 1 for Recordings
    Memory: 2GB Dual Channel
    Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-EP45-DS3L
    Video Card: Jaton 8600GT 256MB
    Video Card Driver: nvidia 181.22
    Sound Card: Onboard
    Sound Card AC3:
    Sound Card Driver: Onboard
    1. TV Card: Fusion Dual Express PCIe
    1. TV Card Type: Analog / DVB-T
    1. TV Card Driver: latest
    2. TV Card: Fusion Dual Express PCIe
    2. TV Card Type: Analog / DVB-T
    2. TV Card Driver: latest
    3. TV Card: Avermedia A16D
    3. TV Card Type: Analog / DVB-T
    3. TV Card Driver: latest
    4. TV Card:
    4. TV Card Type:
    4. TV Card Driver:
    MPEG2 Video Codec: nvidia Purevideo
    MPEG2 Audio Codec: FFDshow
    h.264 Video Codec: FFDshow
    Satelite/CableTV Provider:
    HTPC Case: Generic Midi Tower
    Cooling:
    Power Supply: 400W
    Remote:
    TV:
    TV - HTPC Connection:
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. argypak

    argypak Portal Pro

    Joined:
    November 21, 2007
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Berwick
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Not that I got any responses here but I thought others may be interested in my findings.
    I swapped the motherboard from the Gigabyte EP45-UD3P to a EP45-DS3L.
    Problem disappeared.
    Nothing to do with the six Windows installs.

    The main difference I can see on the two boards is intel RAID and dual nics on the original board.
    Anyway, I couldn't get it to work with the first board.:confused:
     
  4. argypak

    argypak Portal Pro

    Joined:
    November 21, 2007
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Berwick
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
  5. argypak

    argypak Portal Pro

    Joined:
    November 21, 2007
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Berwick
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
  6. argypak

    argypak Portal Pro

    Joined:
    November 21, 2007
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Berwick
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Just wan to say to everyone who helped solve this problem :D ..lol.

    I fixed it.

    FYI for anyone who has this problem.
    Check the time on the server motherboard. If it is out by a substantial amount of time the client won't be able to record or stop recordings.

    Once the time on the server was adjusted all my problems went away.

    The clue was this post

    https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/general-support-51/blan-tv-guide-57110/



    I lost two weeks of my life on this :(
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!