completely newbie needs your help (1 Viewer)

animus

May 15, 2011
hiya

i am thinkin for building up my very own htpc and before i do that i am considering of trying out the softwares like
mediaportal or xbmc

I use a 17" laptop that is 3 years old (4 in july) and i was watching movies and other staff with it.Now i am thinkin of buyin a desktop to act as a htpc/internet combo.As i searched about it i found out that there is no need for high end systems.which is like big big plus for my wallet.

Since i know that i am tryin on those sofwares one of which is mediaportal.

I am new to media centers but not to video players.My current set up (as software) is (for x264 videos)

Player: Kmplayer
Codec :Core AVC (pro version,pirated kill me!!)
Renderer:Overlay renderer.

works like a charm.No tearing or studdering what so ever.

I have a nvidia geforce 8600m gs video card.Which in his web site says has purevideo but i dont know the generation.There is some tech called Cuda which gives coreavc an edge (less cpu use)

Here is my configration (i took it from my post in some other forum to take care of the tearing problem found out just needed to change the renderer to overlay from vmr9 but still the same configration) if you need hardware specifications.

my configration

Codec packs

CCCP + CoreAVC (disabled cccp's x264 decoder)

Players

Kmplayer (avc and cccp all set up)

MPC (Same here) (media player classic)

My OS

Windows 7 ultimate + Service Pack 1 (64 bit)

My Laptop's Spesifications

Intel Core2Duo CPU T7700 @2.40 GHz (4M Cache, 2.40 GHz, 800 MHz FSB)

Video Card :NVIDIA Geforce 8600M GS (monitor working at 60 hz)

Video Card Specifications (taken from nvidia official site)

Stream Processors 16
Core Clock (MHz) 600
Shader Clock (MHz) 1200
Memory Clock (MHz) 700
Maximum Memory 512MB
Memory Interface 128-bit

(I know its a sh..y card but it should play at least 720p's without problems)

Ram : DDR2 3GB (dont know the hz its again 3 years old probably around 533 hz)