"could not lock onto channel" when trying to start a scheduled recording after waking up from sleep (1 Viewer)

Nat Mishkin

September 24, 2015
Home Country
United States of America United States of America
I'm pretty new to MP. I've got basic live TV all working and now I'm trying to get scheduled recordings to work, including in cases where the PC is in the "sleep" state. The PC is definitely waking up appropriately, but then it's failing to start the recording. Here's a snippet of the TVService.log:

[2015-09-23 19:43:12,743] [Log ] [12 ] [INFO ] - dvb: LockInOnSignal waiting 20ms
[2015-09-23 19:43:12,767] [Log ] [12 ] [INFO ] - dvb: LockInOnSignal waiting 20ms
[2015-09-23 19:43:12,792] [Log ] [12 ] [INFO ] - dvb: LockInOnSignal waiting 20ms
[2015-09-23 19:43:12,816] [Log ] [12 ] [INFO ] - dvb: LockInOnSignal waiting 20ms
[2015-09-23 19:43:12,842] [Log ] [12 ] [INFO ] - dvb: LockInOnSignal waiting 20ms
[2015-09-23 19:43:14,568] [Log ] [12 ] [INFO ] - dvb: LockInOnSignal could not lock onto channel - no signal or bad signal

Nothing got recorded.

After this failure, I opened up the MP UI and turned on the TV to make sure basic live TV is working. It seems like at first it wasn't, but when I changed channels back and forth, it started working. It's like the tuner (or software) is in some sort of funky state after returning from sleep.

Windows 10; Hauppauge WinTV 885 tuner card. Never had this problem when I was using Windows Media Center in the past.

Any ideas?

Thanks.

Nat

mm1352000

Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • September 1, 2008
    Home Country
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hello and welcome Nat :)

Post the full set of log files please if you want us to help you. Ideally use the watchdog tool that we provide with option 3 ("export...") to get a zip file containing all the relevant information.

Nat Mishkin

September 24, 2015
    Home Country