CRT television and blurring picture?

Discussion in 'Installation, configuration support' started by Vienna, March 3, 2008.

  1. Vienna

    Vienna Portal Member

    Joined:
    March 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    TV-Server Version:
    MediaPortal Version: Newest
    MediaPortal Skin: Default
    Windows Version: Windows XP Pro
    CPU Type: Pentium 4 2,53 Ghz
    HDD: 200 GB Samsung
    Memory: 768 MB RAM
    Motherboard: ASUS P5B533
    Motherboard Chipset:
    Motherboard Bios:
    Video Card: ATI Radeon 9600
    Video Card Driver: Latest Catalyst 2.8
    Sound Card: M-audio Revolution 7.1
    Sound Card AC3:
    Sound Card Driver:
    1. TV Card: (1) Hauppage
    1. TV Card Type: PVR150
    1. TV Card Driver:
    2. TV Card: (2) Hauppage
    2. TV Card Type: PVR150
    2. TV Card Driver:
    MPEG2 Video Codec: default
    MPEG2 Audio Codec: default
    Satelite/CableTV Provider:
    HTPC Case: Silverstone L10M
    Cooling:
    Power Supply:
    Remote: Imon Remote
    TV: Tevion CRT television
    TV - HTPC Connection: S-video

    Hi,

    Yesterday I installed Mediaportal. I've used XPMCE for years but I got interested in Mediaportal. I'm still testing stuff but I always had a problem with XPMCE that my screen colors were just blurred. I always thought it has something to do with XPMCE or codecs but I tried a lot of different things back then. Now in Mediaportal I still got in. When the screen is moving fast the screen is blurring and that while having a CRT television :confused: . Does anyone know a solution for this? When the screen is not much movement going on I got a clear picture.

    Thanks!!:)


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Spragleknas
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    Spragleknas Administrator

    Joined:
    December 21, 2005
    Messages:
    9,472
    Likes Received:
    1,385
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Occupied
    Location:
    Located
    Ratings:
    +1,892 / 12
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    Show System Specs
  4. Vienna

    Vienna Portal Member

    Joined:
    March 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    I will try to set some settings like resolution and things. But I have a ATI card not a Nvidia but some settings will be the same I think. I hope this can be a solution.
    Thanks.
     
  5. Spragleknas
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    Spragleknas Administrator

    Joined:
    December 21, 2005
    Messages:
    9,472
    Likes Received:
    1,385
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Occupied
    Location:
    Located
    Ratings:
    +1,892 / 12
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    Show System Specs
    Same settings - different CP.
    Only guide I found :)
     
  6. VicBond007

    VicBond007 Portal Member

    Joined:
    February 20, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Your 9600 deinterlaces every video sent to the tv, regardless of whether or not the content is interlaced or not. I've never found a workaround. It's a very common problem with older video cards where they use the cheapest tv-encoders possible. Could be hardware or software. I've seen this on old ATis, NVidas, Matrox, you name it. Took me years to find a decent SD video output solution, and even then it's only specifically for MPEG2, so it's useless in Mediaportal. I do not know how modern cards behave when outputting an SD signal. My system is set up to output 1080i right now.
     
  7. Vienna

    Vienna Portal Member

    Joined:
    March 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    But every user with the ATI Radeon 9600 should have that problem then? I only have CRT so HDMI or something is no solution. Is there a AGP videocard that is capable or should I buy another system? Very strange because I do not read so much items about this type op problem :(
     
  8. VicBond007

    VicBond007 Portal Member

    Joined:
    February 20, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    VGA/DVI/HDMI are immune to the problem because as far as the card is concerned, the display is a computer monitor. This only applies to times when the video is sent through the tv-encoder. Most people with HTPCs nowadays have digital displays so they're using the digital connections, that's why there have been few complaints. Hook your htpc up to a friend's HD display and you'll see that there's nothing wrong with your computer. It's simply bad video card design.

    You could try an nvidia card but I make no guarantees that it will improve. I don't have any native SD displays in the house anymore to test on :-/
     
  9. Aquarius
    • Premium Supporter

    Aquarius MP Donator

    Joined:
    November 23, 2004
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    NRW
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    There are mods of the 9600 around that produce a RGB interlaced signal to be guided direct to the TV via SCART. Perhaps try these. They are named RADEON XXL.

    Works in my MP machine without a problem.

    Regards
    /Gerd
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!