[CybrDisplay] DVD Crashes on stop... Not ffdShow this time...

Discussion in '1.0 RC4 and SVN Builds' started by thesystemera, December 8, 2008.

  1. thesystemera

    thesystemera Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    22
    Occupation:
    Audio Engineer, Media Guru
    Location:
    Auckland
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    TV-Server Version: RC4
    MediaPortal Version: RC4
    MediaPortal Skin: Blue Two Wide Custom
    Windows Version: Vista Premium
    CPU Type: Quad Core 9550+ Declocked
    HDD: 2 x Western Digital 80GB + 1000GB
    Memory: 2 x 2GB DDR2 800
    Motherboard: Gigabyte MA78GM
    Video Card: Onboard
    Video Card Driver:
    Sound Card: Onboard Realtek AC97
    Sound Card AC3: HDMI, Optical, traditional
    Sound Card Driver:
    1. TV Card: WinTV Nova T 500
    1. TV Card Type:
    1. TV Card Driver:
    2. TV Card: WinTV PVR 150
    2. TV Card Type:
    2. TV Card Driver:
    3. TV Card:
    3. TV Card Type:
    3. TV Card Driver:
    4. TV Card:
    4. TV Card Type:
    4. TV Card Driver:
    MPEG2 Video Codec:
    MPEG2 Audio Codec:
    h.264 Video Codec:
    Satelite/CableTV Provider:
    HTPC Case: Antec Fusion
    Cooling:
    Power Supply: 430w 80+
    Remote: Hauppauge 45
    TV:
    TV - HTPC Connection:

    OK... This one is a biggie... And somewhat complicated... Now in the past I had have trouble with DVD playback, not so much the playback but when you stopped the DVD almost every second time was guaranteed to crash... I had discovered this was ffdShow and what was required was selecting "DVD Mode" in the ffdShow codec section to resolve this..

    So many months go by without problem.. RC4 comes along and I decided to do a fresh install... Problem is back, except it is not the same problem.. So I went through the huge list of varients.

    Both MPV and MPA... Second or third exit CRASH!
    Cyberlink 7.x and BD-HD... Second or third exit CRASH!
    Microsoft MPEG 2... Second or third exit CRASH!
    Disabled Thumbnailer, DVD43 and other simular 3rd party encrypting or enhancements... Second or third exit CRASH!
    Disabled Pixel Correction, DVA (or what ever its called) CRASH!

    You get what I"m saying, absolutely every combination I can think or, have reinstalled K-Liket codec pack and ffdShow has not been used for most of these settings... there has been very little in the log. Some times not even producing an error log, but here are some none the less...



    This happens when I hit stop on the keyboard or my Hauppauge remote... Please guys, any one, this is a game stopper...
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. thesystemera

    thesystemera Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    22
    Occupation:
    Audio Engineer, Media Guru
    Location:
    Auckland
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hey found out the problem... Was related to the CybrDisplay (new display plugin)...

    Funny enough if I disabled the EQ display function it fixed it... No idea but definately worth looking into. Thanks
     
  4. Johan

    Johan Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 19, 2006
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    11
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    I had the exact same problem with RC4. Almost every time I stopped a DVD it crashed. Physical DVD's as well as mounted image files.
    I must say tahnk you very much for taking the time to find the reaseon! I would have never thought of disabling the EQ option :)

    Tested to turn off the EQ and now it seems (so far...) that I don't get any crashes on stop.
     
  5. thesystemera

    thesystemera Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    22
    Occupation:
    Audio Engineer, Media Guru
    Location:
    Auckland
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    I know, it's the most random thing, liturally took me eight hours to find out, manually re-enabled plugins one by one and did the same with my drivers... I refused to let it get on top of me :D Thanks for the thanks
     
  6. Johan

    Johan Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 19, 2006
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    11
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Let's hope it will get fixed.

    Which LCD are you using? I am using iMON and I am using the lower bar as progress indicator. But it looks a bit "broken" for me.
    Do you have this same issue here? (if you use iMON that is).
     
  7. epwar

    epwar New Member

    Joined:
    December 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    i suppose i'm having the same problems over here. I can't find the answer you give though. Could one of you please help. Where to find the option tha i should turn on or off??
     
  8. Johan

    Johan Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 19, 2006
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    11
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Let's see if I remember this without checking in config. I think you find it the following way.

    1 Start configuration
    2 Enter plugin section
    3 Configure Minidisplay plugin
    4 Press the advanced button
    5 Uncheck EQ option
     
  9. thesystemera

    thesystemera Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    22
    Occupation:
    Audio Engineer, Media Guru
    Location:
    Auckland
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Yes that is spot on, just uncheck the EQ... Ashaim though, the EQ is cool... Who do we address this bug to?
     
  10. chemelli
    • Team MediaPortal

    chemelli Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    September 28, 2006
    Messages:
    6,159
    Likes Received:
    1,126
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Activation Manager - Cloud Services
    Location:
    Trento, Italy
    Ratings:
    +1,127 / 0
    Home Country:
    Italy Italy
    Please test with latest SVN and using teh bundled MiniDisplayLibrary.dll, don't copy anything old like CybrDisplay.dll or MiniDisplay.dll.

    Report back with logs.

    Simone
     
  11. thesystemera

    thesystemera Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    22
    Occupation:
    Audio Engineer, Media Guru
    Location:
    Auckland
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Thanks, will get back to you....
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!