Decompose fails with dual-tuner dvb-t tuner cards.

Discussion in '1.0 RC1 and SVN Builds' started by SciDoctor, April 19, 2008.

  1. SciDoctor
    • Team MediaPortal

    SciDoctor Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    February 2, 2005
    Messages:
    1,465
    Likes Received:
    128
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +138 / 0
    Show System Specs
    This bug has been detailed in depth in this thread, how to reproduce and in what situations the TVSERVICE becomes unresponsive after the failure to cleanly decompose both tuners of a dual tuner card.


    https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/...sive-dual-tuner-dvb-t-cards-35543/index3.html



    Logs are as is because of a bug with MPtesTtool2 which I have started a new bug report for.
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. SciDoctor
    • Team MediaPortal

    SciDoctor Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    February 2, 2005
    Messages:
    1,465
    Likes Received:
    128
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +138 / 0
    Show System Specs
    Two sets of logs showing the problem.

    First has three concurant schedules on three different mux to use three tuners. time stamp 12.31.49 TV SERVER fails and becomes unresponsive.

    Second set of logs has similar but four schedules. time stamp 13.20.04

    Earlier in the logs you will see one schedule and two schedule testing.

    Now when the decompose routine runs the TVSERVICE becomes unresponsive at the final tuner (of dual tuner cards only) to decompose.
     
  4. tourettes
    • Team MediaPortal

    tourettes Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 7, 2005
    Messages:
    17,301
    Likes Received:
    4,595
    Ratings:
    +4,810 / 3
    Can someone reproduce this issue? i.e. is there anyone else who has similar HW available? Most likely a valid bug but would be still good to have someone who can reproduce this issue before entering it into Mantis.
     
  5. SciDoctor
    • Team MediaPortal

    SciDoctor Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    February 2, 2005
    Messages:
    1,465
    Likes Received:
    128
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +138 / 0
    Show System Specs
    Paranoid Delusion has a dual tuner card and has reproduced the bug in the logs shown in the old thread.

    I do understand the difficulty in testing for this as DEVS and testers may not have dual tuner cards.
     
  6. ronilse
    • Team MediaPortal

    ronilse Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    July 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,422
    Likes Received:
    280
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    MediaPortal tester
    Location:
    Moss
    Ratings:
    +280 / 0
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    Show System Specs
    Hi,
    Me too have a dual tuner but one of them died so can't help you with this one.......

    Regards
    Roy
     
  7. SciDoctor
    • Team MediaPortal

    SciDoctor Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    February 2, 2005
    Messages:
    1,465
    Likes Received:
    128
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +138 / 0
    Show System Specs
    Long overnight test (session) VISTA 32, two dual tuner DVB-T cards.

    The test caused all four tuners to be used by design.

    As you can see the TVSERVICE becomes unresponsive at the decompose routine of the second tuner of the final dual tuner card.

    Both decompose routines complete OK with the first of the two cards and only fail on the second(last) card.

    If I only had one card installed then the logs would show the failure on the last tuner of this card which would be its second tuner (if used in the session)
     
  8. Paranoid Delusion
    • Team MediaPortal

    Paranoid Delusion Moderation Manager

    Joined:
    June 13, 2005
    Messages:
    13,062
    Likes Received:
    1,481
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Electrical Engineer
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +1,482 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    To achieve, set multiple recordings for the same times on different transponders, forcing the use of 2 cards, let machine go into standby at end, resume using mce remote, wait to make sure 20 second reinitiliase of tuner has passed.

    2008-04-21 11:05:25.200330 [7]: Controller: dispose card:Nova-DT DVB-T Tuner (Dev1 Path0)
    2008-04-21 11:05:25.200330 [7]: dvb:Decompose
    2008-04-21 11:05:25.200330 [7]: tvcard:FreeAllSubChannels:
    2008-04-21 11:05:25.200330 [7]: stop
    2008-04-21 11:05:28.059705 [7]: remove all filters
    2008-04-21 11:05:28.075330 [7]: free...
    2008-04-21 11:05:28.075330 [7]: free pins...
    2008-04-21 11:05:28.075330 [7]: free graph...
    2008-04-21 11:05:28.090955 [7]: free devices...
    2008-04-21 11:05:28.090955 [7]: decompose done...
    2008-04-21 11:05:28.090955 [7]: Controller: dispose card:Nova-DT DVB-T Tuner (Dev1 Path1)
    2008-04-21 11:05:28.090955 [7]: dvb:Decompose
    2008-04-21 11:05:28.090955 [7]: tvcard:FreeAllSubChannels:
    2008-04-21 11:05:28.090955 [7]: stop
    2008-04-21 11:05:30.981580 [7]: remove all filters
    2008-04-21 11:05:30.997205 [7]: free...
    2008-04-21 11:05:31.028455 [7]: free pins...
    2008-04-21 11:14:57.437500 [12]: WindowsController: ExitWindows performed, result: True

    This is the important bit of the logs, again TVServer unresponsive and needs to be closed, reports stopping service and just hangs until reboot.

    View attachment 20029
     
  9. SciDoctor
    • Team MediaPortal

    SciDoctor Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    February 2, 2005
    Messages:
    1,465
    Likes Received:
    128
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +138 / 0
    Show System Specs
    Thanks.

    I have been looking through a lot of logs posted by other forum members for other bugs to find similar problems.

    The TVSERVER being unresponsive after changing recording folders for both tuners of a dual tuner card and also scan for both tuners of a dual tuner card will give the same decompose failure at the end of the session. (when the TVSERVER needs to decompose).

    I beleive 'elliottmc' may have a dual tuner card from some of the descriptions of the posts but he/she doesn't post many logs wrt TVSERVER for my inspection.
     
  10. Paranoid Delusion
    • Team MediaPortal

    Paranoid Delusion Moderation Manager

    Joined:
    June 13, 2005
    Messages:
    13,062
    Likes Received:
    1,481
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Electrical Engineer
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +1,482 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    I know there are a few people with dual dvb cards, surely we cannot be the only people noticing this, would like some more people, yes\no working with logs would help.
     
  11. hirscho

    hirscho Portal Pro

    Joined:
    December 24, 2006
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    10
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    I assume I have the same issue using two DVB-S cards (KNC1 DVB-S, Hauppauge NOVA-S). As SciDoctor described in his first thread I originally thought it would be a probelm of the EPG grabber.

    If "EPG grabbing while idle" is not flagged the system resumes from standby and TV3 server works as expected. If I select "EPG grabbing while idle" TV3 doesn't respond anymore after resuming from standby and I have to kill and restart the service. I am using WinXP and MP/TV3 RC1. I will try to deliver logs in the evening.

    hirscho
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!