Directx x2

Discussion in 'Tips and Tricks' started by badrastadude, July 30, 2007.

  1. badrastadude

    badrastadude Portal Member

    Joined:
    July 21, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Allrigt guys! Got it working with secondary display. Now the million dollar question(for me =)).

    I want to run games at the same time on the primay screen with directx. I understand that this is impossible with only one graphics card. But if I get another one???

    Is this gonna be possible? Theoretically in my mind it sounds not to unrealistic or is it?

    best regards bjorn


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Bram

    Bram Portal Pro

    Joined:
    December 12, 2005
    Messages:
    851
    Likes Received:
    3
    Occupation:
    Webapplication Developer (PHP, AJAX, MySQL, Backba
    Location:
    's-Hertogenbosch
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    As far as I know you can only use one screen at the time with DirectX rendering. To second ne won't be hardware accelerated.
     
  4. badrastadude

    badrastadude Portal Member

    Joined:
    July 21, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    ok but is there a way to disable dx on mediaportal then??

    //Bjorn
     
  5. Bram

    Bram Portal Pro

    Joined:
    December 12, 2005
    Messages:
    851
    Likes Received:
    3
    Occupation:
    Webapplication Developer (PHP, AJAX, MySQL, Backba
    Location:
    's-Hertogenbosch
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Not that I'm aware of.
    You'd like to listen to music while playing games?
     
  6. badrastadude

    badrastadude Portal Member

    Joined:
    July 21, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    no watching tv and playing movies... music I can solve by inserting another soundcard!
     
  7. huma2000

    huma2000 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    December 1, 2006
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    3
    Occupation:
    Student of veterinary, PC tecnichian and some more
    Location:
    Murcia, Spain
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Home Country:
    Spain Spain
    Show System Specs
    As far as I know, if you are using Windows XP and you have two card you can have 2 directx accelerated display, you don't need hat both card are ati or nvidia, but is recomendable. Under Vista, both card must be controlled by the same driver, so you need use two nvidias or two atis.
    Over the paper, it must work.
    Also you must remember taht most games automatically start into the primary display, so maybe it can be a trouble.
    I haven't try it (only read a lot of tecnical data before mounting my dual display sistem).
    You can read it about the vista multimon support http://www.microsoft.com/whdc/device/display/multimonVista.mspx
    I hope it help you, search at WHDC for more info or at the MSFN forums.
     
  8. badrastadude

    badrastadude Portal Member

    Joined:
    July 21, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Ok sounds goood! I'm not gonna run games on secondary anyway. while girlfriend watch tv i want to play games on my primary display! I have XP sp2 now.... Do you think it's a wise idea or just fooliseness?

    /bjorn
     
  9. huma2000

    huma2000 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    December 1, 2006
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    3
    Occupation:
    Student of veterinary, PC tecnichian and some more
    Location:
    Murcia, Spain
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Home Country:
    Spain Spain
    Show System Specs
    You can do it, I have do it with a geforce 79000gs and some autoit scripts, well no games because I have only one card, but I can work while mp is running into the secondary display, and now with the patch from piba you don't need the autoit scripts. Read: https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/patch_choose_screen_which_mp_start_fullscreen-t25689.html
    https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/mixed_workstation_and_htpc-t13664.html
    https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/plugin_start_mp_secondary_display-t25847.html

    Hope it help to you.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!