[EPG] - Display incrementing Channel numbers in EPG-Page

Discussion in 'Improvement Suggestions' started by jimbeam128, June 22, 2010.

  1. jimbeam128

    jimbeam128 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    December 16, 2008
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    19
    Ratings:
    +19 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Started on: 2010-06-22
    last update: 2010-06-22

    Summary: The Channel numbers shoud be displayed incremented from top to bottom

    Area: EPG (Program) Page in MediaPortal

    Description:

    I know it´s possible to change the Channel number in the TV-Server config - for DVB-S. I also know that it is NOT possible to change the Channel numbers for DVB-C.



    But the solution to display and change channel numbers for the TV-Program next to the channel names is awful.

    I think it´s clear that the first channel in the TV-Program page ist one. Second, two and so on...

    But when we activate the option to display the channel numbers in MediaPortal Config, different channel numbers are displayed. DVB-S and DVB-T users manually have to change every channel if they want to have "senseful" channel numbers displayed. DVB-C users have no chance to get senseful channel numbers displayed.

    I would appreciate a solution where we could activate an option where the Channel numbers are displayed in the TV-Program page AND where the Channel number start with one at the top and increments to the bottom.

    Please let me know your suggestions :D
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. 4Fred
    • Premium Supporter

    4Fred MP Donator

    Joined:
    December 8, 2005
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    41
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Jönköping
    Ratings:
    +51 / 2
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Show System Specs
  4. riksmith

    riksmith Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,856
    Likes Received:
    321
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +321 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    From 1.1.0 it is possible to edit DVB-C channel numbers.

    I do not know what you mean by "DVB-S and DVB-T users manually have to change every channel if they want to have "senseful" channel numbers". I don't know how you added your channels, but normally a channel scan retrieves the info from the network if it is available.

    When i do not activate "show channels numbers" i do not get any number at all. You however state that you get "different channel numbers"

    There is another option "select channels by index" in mp config. I think that is what you actually want. I think if you enable "show channel numbers" and have that option ticked you should (currently doesn't) get the index as channel number.
     
  5. catavolt
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    catavolt Design Group Manager

    Joined:
    August 13, 2007
    Messages:
    12,282
    Likes Received:
    5,005
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Technical Documentation, Translation
    Location:
    Lanzarote
    Ratings:
    +7,446 / 38
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    AW: Display incrementing Channel numbers in EPG-Page

    When I do a scan on my DVB-T channels, all get the number 10000. So I DO have to renumber them, if I want to display channel numbers. I have the option "select channels by index" enabled and "show channels numbers" disabled, because I´m to lazy to enter all the channel numbers. Nevertheless I can switch to a desired channel by entering the number it occupies in the respective list.
     
  6. riksmith

    riksmith Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,856
    Likes Received:
    321
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +321 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Re: AW: Display incrementing Channel numbers in EPG-Page

    Then we either have a bug, or there is no channel number available on your network.
     
  7. catavolt
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    catavolt Design Group Manager

    Joined:
    August 13, 2007
    Messages:
    12,282
    Likes Received:
    5,005
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Technical Documentation, Translation
    Location:
    Lanzarote
    Ratings:
    +7,446 / 38
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    AW: Display incrementing Channel numbers in EPG-Page

    I think it isn´t a bug, the DVB-T here does not transmit channel numbers - but would be a good idea to implement that feature to automatically assign them ;)
     
  8. riksmith

    riksmith Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,856
    Likes Received:
    321
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +321 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Re: AW: Display incrementing Channel numbers in EPG-Page

    I have a working patch here to show the index number instead of the channel number when you select "show channelnumber" and "select by index".
    Will make a mantis and post it in the appropriate place.
     
  9. catavolt
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    catavolt Design Group Manager

    Joined:
    August 13, 2007
    Messages:
    12,282
    Likes Received:
    5,005
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Technical Documentation, Translation
    Location:
    Lanzarote
    Ratings:
    +7,446 / 38
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    AW: Display incrementing Channel numbers in EPG-Page

    Great!
     
  10. jimbeam128

    jimbeam128 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    December 16, 2008
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    19
    Ratings:
    +19 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    So my problem is this here:

    [​IMG]

    And there is no chance to edit senseful channel numbers:

    1 ARD
    2 ZDF
    3 WDR Köln

    and so on.

    riksmith

    You´ve got a patch for displaying the index numbers? - Can you tell me where I can get that? Could you provide a link?

    Best regards:D
     
  11. riksmith

    riksmith Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,856
    Likes Received:
    321
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +321 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Patch will follow within a few days, but i can not supply any binaries, just the patch file. You would have to compile the code yourself then.

    Just one question: Why can't you edit the channel numbers?
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!