[confirm] - Dropping frames - MP neverending story

Discussion in 'MediaPortal 1.1.0 RC 1 & 2' started by lordie, April 15, 2010.

  1. lordie
    • Premium Supporter

    lordie MP Donator

    Joined:
    December 19, 2007
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    3
    Occupation:
    Software developer
    Location:
    Prague
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    Home Country:
    Czech Republic Czech Republic
    Show System Specs
    MediaPortal Version: 1.1.0 RC1
    MediaPortal Skin: StreamedMP
    Windows Version: Win7 Ultimate 64
    CPU Type: AMD BE-2350e
    HDD: 2x 2,5" WD 512GB
    Memory: 2GB
    Motherboard: ASUS 690G
    Video Card: GeForce GT 220
    Video Card Driver: 197.13
    Sound Card: integrated
    Sound Card AC3:
    Sound Card Driver:
    1. TV Card: Pinnacle PCTV Dual DVB-T Pro 2000i
    1. TV Card Type: DVB-T
    1. TV Card Driver:
    2. TV Card:
    2. TV Card Type:
    2. TV Card Driver:
    3. TV Card:
    3. TV Card Type:
    3. TV Card Driver:
    4. TV Card:
    4. TV Card Type:
    4. TV Card Driver:
    MPEG2 Video Codec: MS codec
    MPEG2 Audio Codec: MS codec
    h.264 Video Codec: MS codec
    Satelite/CableTV Provider:
    HTPC Case: Thermaltake VF7001BNS DH 101
    Cooling:
    Power Supply: 350W Fortron
    Remote: Gyration
    TV: Panasonic TH-37PX80E
    TV - HTPC Connection: DVI->HDMI

    Hi,



    yesterday I installed MP 1.1 RC2 and unfortunatelly I am facing to the same problems as in RC1 - Live TV is stuttering frequently. I really hoped that this problem will be solved by the huge amount of bugfixes between those 2 versions. The stuttering is caused by droped frames (it is not just few frames, but tens) time to time. I tried almost everything possible to avoid this situation (try different codecs, exchange graphic card (ATI->NVidia), disable C&Q functionality), but nothing really helped.
    Before I will downgrade to release 1.0.2 and win XP, which at least in case of SD TV worked WITHOUT such problems, I would like to ask if anybody has any idea or hint, which could help me to fix this problem.
    I attached logs from yesterday evening, there are several places recorded, where problem occured. Last one is from 23:19:41. (Latency checker program didn't show any abnormality. I am using StreamedMP sking, but with default Blue3Wide without any additional plugin, the same problems occure.)

    Thanks
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. arion_p
    • Premium Supporter

    arion_p Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    February 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,352
    Likes Received:
    1,447
    Occupation:
    Developer
    Location:
    Athens
    Ratings:
    +1,522 / 0
    Home Country:
    Greece Greece
    Show System Specs
    Your system is pretty low spec. Try to monitor disk activity to see if it is related.

    After upgrading to RC2, all playback would periodically stutter because, thumbnails where being rebuilt, the music database was being reorganized and MovingPictures and My TV Series would scan for movies/series.

    Also note that live TV causes twice the disk activity as simple playback, because the same data is first written to disk then read back.
     
  4. Wiesel

    Wiesel Portal Member

    Joined:
    April 23, 2008
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    I also can't notice any improvement of RC2 over RC1. I tried ffdshow (newest version), PowerDVD 7 and Microsoft codecs, and all have massive frame drops. If I press SHIFT+1 to watch the graphs, they're showing almost always high amplitudes. The only exception is the MPC codec which results in nearly straight lines and only looses one or two frames every now and then. The latency checker tool for me also doesn't indicate any abnormality. WMC and ProgDVB don't have any problems with these codecs.
     
  5. robyf
    • Premium Supporter

    robyf Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    June 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,076
    Likes Received:
    139
    Occupation:
    IT Manager
    Location:
    Bolzano
    Ratings:
    +141 / 0
    Home Country:
    Italy Italy
    For good performances with MediaPortal you need at least and ATI HD4670 or Nvidia9500 if you output to a 1080p (FULLHD) TV. This is due to the ati hack introduced in MP 1.1b.
     
  6. Paranoid Delusion
    • Premium Supporter

    Paranoid Delusion Moderation Manager

    Joined:
    June 13, 2005
    Messages:
    13,062
    Likes Received:
    1,481
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Electrical Engineer
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +1,482 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    One thing you can check, but you need to access the motherboard BIOS, is that your HDD\s are running in UDMA and not PIO mode, the later severely screws up read\write speeds.

    This happened to me that as a failsafe the mobo will revert settings on its own, if it thinks there is a HDD problem, which I did have with a sata cable.
     
  7. tourettes
    • Premium Supporter

    tourettes Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 7, 2005
    Messages:
    17,301
    Likes Received:
    4,595
    Ratings:
    +4,810 / 3
    0002748: Remove ATI flickering hack - MediaPortal Bugtracker

    But in any case GT220 is more than enough for MP and 1080p/i.
     
  8. Juppe

    Juppe Portal Pro

    Joined:
    November 17, 2006
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    15
    Ratings:
    +20 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Show System Specs
    Do you have any anti-virus program installed, in that case try to exclude the folders where you have your timeshift and recording stored.
     
  9. esas

    esas Portal Pro

    Joined:
    November 14, 2006
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    22
    Ratings:
    +27 / 1
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    Show System Specs
    To bad this can't be removed. Is it possible to post a patch? That way community users can compile their own version if they want to (not using ATI 5xxx ;)). Maybe after 1.1 final?
     
  10. tourettes
    • Premium Supporter

    tourettes Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 7, 2005
    Messages:
    17,301
    Likes Received:
    4,595
    Ratings:
    +4,810 / 3
    If you check the Mantis entry more closely you'll see that it has been already removed :)
     
  11. te3hpurp
    • Premium Supporter

    te3hpurp Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    September 23, 2008
    Messages:
    904
    Likes Received:
    182
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Senior Software Architect
    Location:
    Rovaniemi
    Ratings:
    +229 / 0
    Home Country:
    Finland Finland
    Show System Specs
    Hi.

    I'd like to suggest following scenario. I had similar problems with my system. And there was lot of them.
    At first I advise you to do what i did here:

    https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/general-support-51/stuering-hd-sometimes-sd-my-solution-80199/

    And I did not install latest NVidia drivers because they are not good. Now I'm using 186.91 If i remember right. Quite early Win 7 driver anyway.

    Secondly I had problems with another pinnacle pctv tuner for dvb-t. Solution there was to change generic network provider to dvt-t network provider.
    You seem to have x64 version of win7 so are all these suggested tryouts possible in Win7 x64.

    Regards,
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!