[Installation] - DVB-S scanning not working with hauppauge s2 hd and symbolrate 30000

Discussion in 'MediaPortal 1.1.0 ALPHA' started by mylle, July 21, 2009.

  1. mylle

    mylle Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 14, 2005
    Messages:
    574
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    Denmark
    Ratings:
    +68 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    MediaPortal Version: 1.1 beta with 23652
    MediaPortal Skin: blue wide
    Windows Version: windows vista sp2
    CPU Type: amd 4850e
    HDD: 1tb wd
    Memory: 3gb
    Motherboard: gigabyte 780g chipset
    Video Card: ati 3200hd
    Video Card Driver: catalyst 9.9
    Sound Card: realtek
    Sound Card AC3:
    Sound Card Driver:
    1. TV Card: hauppauge nova s2 hd
    1. TV Card Type: dvb-s2
    1. TV Card Driver: 2.124.27191.1
    2. TV Card: hauppauge nova s2 hd
    2. TV Card Type: dvb-s2
    2. TV Card Driver: 2.124.27191.1
    3. TV Card:
    3. TV Card Type:
    3. TV Card Driver:
    4. TV Card:
    4. TV Card Type:
    4. TV Card Driver:
    MPEG2 Video Codec: powerdvd 8
    MPEG2 Audio Codec: powerdvd 8
    h.264 Video Codec: powerdvd 8
    Satelite/CableTV Provider:
    HTPC Case:
    Cooling:
    Power Supply:
    Remote:
    TV:
    TV - HTPC Connection:
    Hello



    I have a setup with 2 dvb-s cards. 1 x hauppauge s2 hd and 1 x tt s-3200.

    I decided to try the alpha built and completely uninstalled 1.0.1 includning dropping the database. Now i am not able to get any HD channels with symbolrate 30000 on my hauppauge card :( It works fine on the tt-s3200.

    During a scan it just says no signal when reaching thor 1degree west on 12015H 30000 on the hauppauge card. I have tried reverting back to 1.0.2 but that does not make a difference. I have also tried different drivers but with no success.

    This used to work just fine!!!



    2009-07-21 09:32:35.500000 [16]: Controller: StartTimeShifting Discovery HD 4860
    2009-07-21 09:32:35.500000 [16]: Controller: find free card for channel Discovery HD
    2009-07-21 09:32:35.500000 [16]: Controller: got 1 tuning details for Discovery HD
    2009-07-21 09:32:35.500000 [16]: Controller: channel #1 DVBS:tv:Telenor Discovery HD Freq:12015000 ONID:70 TSID:41 SID:4102 PMT:0x101 FTA:False LCN:4860 SymbolRate:30000 Modulation:Mod8Vsb Polarisation:LinearH InnerFecRate:Rate3_4 DisEqc:Level1AA band:Universal Pilot:On RollOff:ThirtyFive
    2009-07-21 09:32:35.500000 [16]: Controller: card:1 type:DvbIP cannot tune to channel
    2009-07-21 09:32:35.500000 [16]: Controller: card:2 type:DvbC cannot tune to channel
    2009-07-21 09:32:35.500000 [16]: Controller: card:3 type:DvbS is disabled
    2009-07-21 09:32:35.500000 [16]: Controller: card:4 type:DvbS is available priority:3 #users:0 same transponder:False
    2009-07-21 09:32:35.500000 [16]: Controller: card:5 type:Analog cannot tune to channel
    2009-07-21 09:32:35.500000 [16]: Controller: card:6 type:RadioWebStream cannot tune to channel
    2009-07-21 09:32:35.500000 [16]: Controller: found 1 available
    2009-07-21 09:32:35.531250 [16]: card: CardTune 4 Discovery HD homeserver:4:-1
    2009-07-21 09:32:35.531250 [16]: card: Tune 4 to Discovery HD
    2009-07-21 09:32:35.531250 [16]: card: user: homeserver:4:-1 tune DVBS:tv:Telenor Discovery HD Freq:12015000 ONID:70 TSID:41 SID:4102 PMT:0x101 FTA:False LCN:4860 SymbolRate:30000 Modulation:Mod8Vsb Polarisation:LinearH InnerFecRate:Rate3_4 DisEqc:Level1AA band:Universal Pilot:On RollOff:ThirtyFive
    2009-07-21 09:32:35.531250 [16]: dvbs: Tune:DVBS:tv:Telenor Discovery HD Freq:12015000 ONID:70 TSID:41 SID:4102 PMT:0x101 FTA:False LCN:4860 SymbolRate:30000 Modulation:Mod8Vsb Polarisation:LinearH InnerFecRate:Rate3_4 DisEqc:Level1AA band:Universal Pilot:On RollOff:ThirtyFive
    2009-07-21 09:32:35.531250 [16]: dvb:GetNewSubChannel:0 #0
    2009-07-21 09:32:35.546875 [16]: TvDvbChannel ctor new subchIndex:0
    2009-07-21 09:32:35.546875 [16]: LNB low:9750 hi:10600 switch:11700
    2009-07-21 09:32:35.546875 [16]: Hauppauge DVB-S2 modulation set to:Mod8Vsb
    2009-07-21 09:32:35.546875 [16]: Hauppauge DVB-S2 Pilot set to:On
    2009-07-21 09:32:35.546875 [16]: Hauppauge DVB-S2 RollOff set to:ThirtyFive
    2009-07-21 09:32:35.546875 [16]: Hauppauge DVB-S2 fec set to:Rate3_4
    2009-07-21 09:32:35.546875 [16]: Hauppauge: Set Pilot: On
    2009-07-21 09:32:35.546875 [16]: Hauppauge: Set Roll-Off: ThirtyFive
    2009-07-21 09:32:35.546875 [16]: Channel modulation is set to Mod8Vsb
    2009-07-21 09:32:35.546875 [16]: Channel FECRate is set to Rate3_4
    2009-07-21 09:32:35.546875 [16]: Hauppauge: SendDiseq: 0xE0 0x10 0x38 0xF3 0x4 0x0 0x3 0x0 0x1 0x3 0x1
    2009-07-21 09:32:35.656250 [16]: dvb:confused:ubmiting tunerequest Channel:Discovery HD subChannel:0
    2009-07-21 09:32:35.656250 [16]: dvb:using existing subchannel:0
    2009-07-21 09:32:35.656250 [16]: dvb:confused:ubmit tunerequest size:1 new:0
    2009-07-21 09:32:35.656250 [16]: subch:0 OnBeforeTune
    2009-07-21 09:32:35.656250 [16]: dvb:confused:ubmit tunerequest calling put_TuneRequest
    2009-07-21 09:32:37.562500 [16]: dvb:confused:ubmit tunerequest done calling put_TuneRequest
    2009-07-21 09:32:37.562500 [16]: subch:0 OnAfterTune
    2009-07-21 09:32:37.562500 [16]: subch:0 OnGraphStart
    2009-07-21 09:32:37.562500 [16]: subch:0 Graph already running - skip WaitForPMT
    2009-07-21 09:32:37.562500 [16]: dvb: RunGraph
    2009-07-21 09:32:43.531250 [16]: dvb: LockedInOnSignal waiting 20ms
    2009-07-21 09:32:43.546875 [16]: dvb: LockedInOnSignal waiting 20ms
    2009-07-21 09:32:43.578125 [16]: dvb: LockedInOnSignal waiting 20ms
    2009-07-21 09:32:43.593750 [16]: dvb: LockedInOnSignal waiting 20ms
    2009-07-21 09:32:43.625000 [16]: dvb: LockedInOnSignal waiting 20ms
    2009-07-21 09:32:45.546875 [16]: dvb: LockedInOnSignal could not lock onto channel - no signal or bad signal
    2009-07-21 09:32:45.546875 [16]: mdplug: FreeChannel Discovery HD
    2009-07-21 09:32:45.546875 [16]: tvcard:FreeSubChannel: subchannels count 1 subch#0 keep graph=False
    2009-07-21 09:32:45.546875 [16]: DVB subch:0 Decompose()
    2009-07-21 09:32:45.562500 [16]: FreeSubChannel CA: freeing sub channel : 0
    2009-07-21 09:32:45.562500 [16]: tvcard:FreeSubChannel : no subchannels present, stopping graph
    2009-07-21 09:32:45.562500 [16]: dvb:confused:topGraph called
    2009-07-21 09:32:45.562500 [16]: tvcard:FreeAllSubChannels:
    2009-07-21 09:32:45.562500 [16]: mdplug: FreeAllChannels
    2009-07-21 09:32:45.562500 [16]: dvb:confused:topGraph
    2009-07-21 09:32:45.656250 [16]: card2:homeserver 4 -1

    what could have happened?

    regards

    Jacob
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. ronilse
    • Team MediaPortal

    ronilse Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    July 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,422
    Likes Received:
    280
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    MediaPortal tester
    Location:
    Moss
    Ratings:
    +280 / 0
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    Show System Specs
    Hi,
    Attach all logs to your post (& not in the post) & add system specifications to it, so we know what to compare too.

    Regards
    Roy
     
  4. mylle

    mylle Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 14, 2005
    Messages:
    574
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    Denmark
    Ratings:
    +68 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    Ok, so i guess i figured it out.

    The transponder information about how to scan must have changed at some point between mediaportal 1.0 and 1.1 alpha. Apparently it does not affect every dvb-s card as my technotrend s-3200 works fine.

    What i had to do to get the hauppauge to scan the HD channels on Thor 1g west was to edit this file

    C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal TV Server\TuningParameters\dvbs\0.8°W Thor 3,5 Intelsat 10-02.xml

    i changed "pilot" to OFF instead of on and set "rolloff" to max instead of thirtyfive

    <Transponder>
    <CarrierFrequency>12015000</CarrierFrequency>
    <Polarisation>LinearH</Polarisation>
    <SymbolRate>30000</SymbolRate>
    <Modulation>Mod8Psk</Modulation>
    <InnerFecRate>Rate3_4</InnerFecRate>
    <Pilot>Off</Pilot>
    <Rolloff>Max</Rolloff>
    </Transponder>


    If i update the transponderlist it will of course overwrite theese settings again.

    Hopefully this can be fixed in a future svn? i have no idea what those settings mean but apparently the hauppauge card needs those set otherwise for it to scan transponders with a symbolrate of 30000 whereas the tt-3200 does not care.

    regards

    Jacob
     
  5. mylle

    mylle Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 14, 2005
    Messages:
    574
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    Denmark
    Ratings:
    +68 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    Actually it now seems to be a problem on all S2 transponders regardless of symbolrate. I can confirm that this problem also exists in 1.0.2
     
  6. bakerpr

    bakerpr Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 21, 2009
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    I can also confirm this issue is also present on my technotrend S2-3650 whilst my S2-3200 is fine.
     
  7. dbgurudk
    • Premium Supporter

    dbgurudk MP Donator

    Joined:
    April 9, 2008
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I can also confirm that there is no HD channels on 1 west using Hauppauge HVR-4000

    I do not have any dvbs folder in the tuningparameters folder??

    How can I provide a log with the scanning result?
     
  8. mylle

    mylle Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 14, 2005
    Messages:
    574
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    Denmark
    Ratings:
    +68 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    You can finde the DVBS tunig folder here
    C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal TV Server\TuningParameters

    To get the HD channels to work on the hauppauge card you have to set the "pilot" setting to off on the S" transponder.

    I dont know if the dev's are looking in this thread or what we have to do to get this permanently fixed?

    mylle
     
  9. dbgurudk
    • Premium Supporter

    dbgurudk MP Donator

    Joined:
    April 9, 2008
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi Mylle,

    My problem is that I do not have this DVBS folder in my tuningparameters folder :(

    I'm on the SNV of 08-08-09 on 1.1.0.0 ALPHA

    Maybe we should put a thread in the SVN section?

    Maybe you can post you dvbs xml-file in the Pastebin

    Thanks in advance.
     
  10. mylle

    mylle Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 14, 2005
    Messages:
    574
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    Denmark
    Ratings:
    +68 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    That is weird. Are you sure you are looking in the right place?

    It is not in the programfiles\tema mediaportal server.

    What OS are you using? In vista i believe its somewhere in the c:\programdata folder

    Maybe its hidden?

    regards

    mylle
     
  11. dbgurudk
    • Premium Supporter

    dbgurudk MP Donator

    Joined:
    April 9, 2008
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi Mylle,

    It's vista and I can see all the tuningparameters xml-files.

    Here is my log files after a scan.
     

    Attached Files:

    • tv.txt
      File size:
      30.6 KB
      Uploaded:
      August 17, 2009
      Views:
      494
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!