DVB-T radio channels shows as TV channels.

Discussion in 'Television (MyTV frontend and TV-Server)' started by Prositdwarf, December 30, 2008.

  1. Prositdwarf

    Prositdwarf Portal Member

    Joined:
    November 19, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    When trying to play dvb-t radio channels, I get message "Unable to start time-shifting No video/audio detected.


    TV-Server Version: TV-Server 1.0 (RC4)
    MediaPortal Version: MediaPortal 1.0 (RC4)
    MediaPortal Skin: Blue3
    Windows Version: XP MCE SP3
    CPU Type: AMD Athlon 64 X2 4850e
    HDD: WD 1TB
    Memory: 4 GB DDR2 800 Dual Channel
    Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-MA78GM-S2H
    Video Card: Built into mb ATI Radeon HD 3200
    Video Card Driver: 8.522.0.0
    Sound Card: Built into mb Realtek ATI HDMI Audio
    Sound Card AC3:
    Sound Card Driver: 5.10.0.5413
    1. TV Card: ASUSTeK LNA Tiger Hybrid
    1. TV Card Type: DVB-T
    1. TV Card Driver: 13.3.5.3
    2. TV Card: Azurwave (Twinhan) AD-TP300
    2. TV Card Type: DVB-T
    2. TV Card Driver:
    3. TV Card:
    3. TV Card Type:
    3. TV Card Driver:
    4. TV Card:
    4. TV Card Type:
    4. TV Card Driver:
    MPEG2 Video Codec:
    MPEG2 Audio Codec:
    h.264 Video Codec:
    Satelite/CableTV Provider:
    HTPC Case: Antec NSK2480
    Cooling:
    Power Supply:
    Remote:
    TV:
    TV - HTPC Connection:


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. hakuna

    hakuna Portal Pro

    Joined:
    October 15, 2004
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Automation engineer
    Location:
    Gothenburg
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
  4. Prositdwarf

    Prositdwarf Portal Member

    Joined:
    November 19, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Probably not card dependent, it works with Cyberlinks Power Cinema. But even there shows up as tv-channel, so I guess thats how it should be.
     
  5. hakuna

    hakuna Portal Pro

    Joined:
    October 15, 2004
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Automation engineer
    Location:
    Gothenburg
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    With DigitalTV (from Twinhan) it says tv, but is shown as a pay channel (in MP it is free).
    Have not tried with the program from Hauppage (my second card) yet.

    Have you tried playing the channel SVT1 Tal? Does not work for me either, do not know what it is...

    Niclas
     
  6. Paranoid Delusion
    • Premium Supporter

    Paranoid Delusion Moderation Manager

    Joined:
    June 13, 2005
    Messages:
    13,062
    Likes Received:
    1,481
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Electrical Engineer
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +1,482 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    I think this would need a rewrite of the tsreader to be able to cope with TV with no video available (radio), this would be no little task me thinks, makes you wonder why they have gone down this road, as it breaks the dvb standard.

    Why not just do as below :confused:

    sshot-26.jpg

    Anyway, will ask gemx to have a look and reply.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. ronilse
    • Premium Supporter

    ronilse Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    July 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,422
    Likes Received:
    280
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    MediaPortal tester
    Location:
    Moss
    Ratings:
    +280 / 0
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    Show System Specs
    Hi,
    Sounds weird, please attach a log from a scan so we can see what it says about the channels it finds.

    Regards
    Roy
     
  8. gemx
    • Premium Supporter

    gemx Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    October 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,972
    Likes Received:
    541
    Ratings:
    +541 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    I am quite sure that the provider somehow messed up the descriptors. To check it, i would need at least a TsWriter.log and a Tv.log file which was created during scanning for these channels.
     
  9. Prositdwarf

    Prositdwarf Portal Member

    Joined:
    November 19, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Thx for replies. I will attach the requested logs. The radio channels i question is SR-P1, SR-Klassiskt and SR-P3.
     
  10. hakuna

    hakuna Portal Pro

    Joined:
    October 15, 2004
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Automation engineer
    Location:
    Gothenburg
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    From sr.se:
    Ljudformatet som Sveriges Radios kanaler sänds i är MPEG1 L2 Stereo, 256 kbit/s. Tjänsten finns i tv-mode och inte i radio-mode.

    My translation:
    The sound format is MPEG1 L2 stereo, 256 kbit/s. The service is available in tv mode, not in radio mode.
     
  11. jblomb
    • Premium Supporter

    jblomb Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    17
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Sundsvall
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Yup, the weird #%"&/%#&'s are sending a radio channel as a TV-channel without video.... However, if you edit the channels in SQL server directly, you can set isRadio to true in tables Channels and TuningDetail for those channels, and then they show up as radiochannels in TVServer Config.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!