DVD Navigation issue with latest PDVD Patch

Discussion in 'Codecs, External Players' started by markrb, December 2, 2007.

  1. markrb

    markrb Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 22, 2006
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    I installed that latest PowerDVD version today (3516) and for some reason it has completely messed up DVD navigation inside MP.
    I can navigate fine within MP itself, it's just within the DVD that when I use the select button it goes left then select.

    I can confirm that this only happens when using the PowerDVD codec. Using any other and this does not happen.

    I am going to uninstall this version and go back to an older build. I am pretty sure this will solve my issue.

    Turning on or off DXVA (I forget the right term) in the DVD configuration screen had no effect.

    Using Enter on the keyboard had the same problem as hitting select on my remote.



    mark
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. markrb

    markrb Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 22, 2006
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    To expand on what I have found with my system.
    Currently running Vista.
    If I use any PowerDVD build of 3304 or greater I have DVD navigation issues within MP using the
    PowerDVD Codec. Previous builds or other codecs do not have this problem.

    This is an issue because I like the PowerDVD Codec the best and external from MP I use it for HD-DVD and Blu-Ray.
    I need 3304 or greater to watch the newer Blu-Ray discs.

    I am hoping that there is or will be a solution, but as it's not an MP problem as far as I can tell there is probably little this community can do to work on it, but I can hope.

    Mark
     
  4. markrb

    markrb Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 22, 2006
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Any thoughts on this issue?
    I am at a loss and will need to look elsewhere for HTPC software if this can't be resolved as I need to use at least
    3104a to watch the latest HD stuff.

    Mark
     
  5. tourettes
    • Team MediaPortal

    tourettes Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 7, 2005
    Messages:
    17,301
    Likes Received:
    4,595
    Ratings:
    +4,810 / 3
    As quick fix you could configure some other mpeg2 codec for DVD playback.
     
  6. markrb

    markrb Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 22, 2006
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    I know, but to be honest I haven't been happy with the performance of any of the other codecs.
    The closest is Intervideo's, but that has occasional issues.
    The Microsoft one and the others don't deinterlace well for me.
    I just wish these movie studios would have left well enough alone. Everything was working great until BD+ came out.

    Mark
     
  7. tourettes
    • Team MediaPortal

    tourettes Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 7, 2005
    Messages:
    17,301
    Likes Received:
    4,595
    Ratings:
    +4,810 / 3
    Have you tried Nvidia's mpeg2 codecs? For me those have been performing really well.
     
  8. markrb

    markrb Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 22, 2006
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    No I don't think I have.
    Where would I get them as I don't think I have them now, at least they don't show up in the MP config.
    Is that the Purevideo application? If so I thought they stopped that and it's only out for XP.
    I am probably wrong.

    Mark

    I found it and tried it, but it was also pretty bad.
    I am going to go back to XP and see if this solves my issues.

    Mark

    It seems all my problems were because of Vista.
    Back to XP setup them same and no issues.
    I am done with Vista it seems.

    Mark
     
  9. tourettes
    • Team MediaPortal

    tourettes Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 7, 2005
    Messages:
    17,301
    Likes Received:
    4,595
    Ratings:
    +4,810 / 3
    Most likely those Vista related issues are caused by bad video card drivers. Both ATI / Nvidia drivers still seem to be plagued with bugs on some specific systems. Maybe it's a good idea to try Vista again after some months pass by and drivers get into more mature state.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!