Emprex 3009URF III Vista MCE remote - some keys not working

Discussion in 'Remotes' started by LeJimster, February 22, 2010.

  1. LeJimster

    LeJimster Portal Member

    Joined:
    September 5, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    I have a Emprex 3009URF III, which I have got working upto a point. But a couple of keys I would really like to use don't do anything and I'm struggling to find out how to get the keymap codes from programs like EventGhost.

    Through enabling "Use MCE Remote or Keyboard" and "Use general HID" I have been able to get the following keys working.
    Power
    Record
    Play
    Pause
    Rewind
    Forward
    Skip Back
    Skip Forward
    Back
    Up
    Down
    Left
    Right
    Select (OK)
    Volume up
    Volume down
    Mute
    Channel up
    Channel down
    1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,0,*.#
    Clear
    T
    Enter


    The buttons that do nothing are:
    Green MCE Button
    i (more)
    RecTV
    Guide
    LiveTV
    DVDMenu
    Music
    Pictures
    Video
    Radio
    Red
    Green
    Yellow
    Blue


    I would like to be able to use the "Green MCE Button" for Home
    I would like to use the "i" (more) button for bringing up context menus (same as right mouse button)
    And I'm not sure if interactive services are supported in Mediaportal, but if so i would like to be able to use the Red,Green,Yellow,Blue too.



    MediaPortal Version: 1.1.0 RC1
    MediaPortal Skin: Blue3wide
    Windows Version: Windows 7
    CPU Type: Intel E5300
    HDD: Kingsont 40GB SSD Now
    Memory: 2GB Ballistix DDR2-800
    Motherboard: Zotac GF9300 G-E
    Video Card: Onboard nvidia GF9300
    Video Card Driver: latest
    Sound Card: Onboard
    Sound Card AC3: --
    Sound Card Driver: latest
    1. TV Card: none in this machine
    1. TV Card Type:
    1. TV Card Driver:
    2. TV Card:
    2. TV Card Type:
    2. TV Card Driver:
    3. TV Card:
    3. TV Card Type:
    3. TV Card Driver:
    4. TV Card:
    4. TV Card Type:
    4. TV Card Driver:
    MPEG2 Video Codec: Cyberlink PDVD9
    MPEG2 Audio Codec: ffdshow
    h.264 Video Codec: Cyberlink PDVD9
    Satelite/CableTV Provider: Freesat/Freeview
    HTPC Case: Custom
    Cooling: Scythe BIG Shuriken 120
    Power Supply: PicoPSU 120
    Remote: EMPREX
    TV:
    TV - HTPC Connection:
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. ChrisOfCatford
    • Premium Supporter

    ChrisOfCatford MP Donator

    Joined:
    August 2, 2006
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    6
    Occupation:
    Teacher
    Location:
    London UK
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Hi LeJimster,

    Did you ever resolve this? I have the same remote/problem and the only posts that say it is fixed are on older versions and a long time ago.

    I remember there used to be a version of the keyboard input plugin which had a learn feature. The only one that I could find did not have this feature. I tried the new one with event ghost, but could not get the two to talk.

    The remote is great even with limited functionality.

    Chris
     
  4. LeJimster

    LeJimster Portal Member

    Joined:
    September 5, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    There has never been an official fix no, the only partial solution I found was use a separate app but it stopped working after awhile as it was a demo and I don't fancy spending the money to buy full version. Software I was using was a recent build of Intelliremote (older versions do not support the remote). Even then you have to train the keys to do what you want them to do :) Nothing is straight forward when it comes to using HTPC software I've found.
     
  5. elsmandino

    elsmandino Portal Pro

    Joined:
    March 3, 2011
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    10
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Did anyone every find a fix to get this remote to work properly with Mediaportal?

    I am having exactly the same problems as mentioned above.
     
  6. alexdepalma
    • Premium Supporter

    alexdepalma MP Donator

    Joined:
    January 31, 2008
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    293
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +475 / 0
    Home Country:
    Spain Spain
    Show System Specs
    I had this remote in the past and was working properly, all buttons, Home included using eventgost HID pluging, assigning all buttons to the mediaportal plugin (inside eventghost) and installing in Mediaportal a soft to listen eventghost. The last pluging:
    https://www.team-mediaportal.com/extensions/input-output/eventghostplus
    works great.
    As soon as you have the HID plugin active, you look to the HID devices (take care, some times the HID pluging windows is too small and there is no space for other HID devices and you don't find the right one, expand or magnify the window to see all HID devices) as far as I remember, there were 3 HID devices to make fully working Emprexx remote. So you will end up with 3 HID plugins inside eventghost, one for each different key sections.

    Once properly recognized, you will see that buttons preses are recognized by eventghost.
    Copy those key presses to the Mediaportal plugin (inside eventghost) if you press, let's say Home, EventGhost will recognize the button name with a code (don't spect the name just a code) and you can copy (right mouse button) or drag the code to the Mediaportal Home function (on the right side of the eventghost screen).

    Deactivate all remotes in mediaportal as the eventghost will take care of all functions. If fail to deactivate, some buttons may have doubled function (doubled clicks).

    Regards
    A
     
  7. elsmandino

    elsmandino Portal Pro

    Joined:
    March 3, 2011
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    10
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Hi Alex,

    Thank you soooo much for this - my remote works perfectly now!

    I was just about to get rid it of as well.

    Thanks again.

    Alex
     
    • Like Like x 1

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!