EPG Data - Schedules Direct (1 Viewer)

southpaw

December 9, 2015
Home Country
United States of America United States of America
Greetings all,

I am new to MediaPortal having recently installed it as a possible future replacement to WMC. After a bit of work and the fine help available online I have the system up and running and recording OTA - USA broadcasts. I have MCEBuddy watching the recorded TV folder, stripping commercials, converting to MP4 and storing the resulting file in a Plex media server folder.

I am using schedules direct for guide data and I ran into an issue where the recoded program XML file list the episode number as (for example) Episode: 512 rather than Season: 5 Episode: 12. I can get around this using the SchedulesDirect EPG Client plugin by ticking the option to fetch season and episode data from TheTVDB.com. I would however prefer not to use this plugin but I have not been able to figure out how to get around this issue using the XmlTV plugin. I feel it necessary to overcome this issue if I ever want to switch to MP2. I wrote to Schedules Direct support and got the following response.

• > I am trying to use Mediaportal 1.12.0 with the XmlTV plugin and
  • > Schedules Direct for OTA broadcast in Milwaukee Wisconsin.
  • > Unfortunately the data comes across for example as Episode:512
  • > rather than Season:5 Episode:12.

• The JSON service has proper Season / Episode information; the XML service doesn't. (The XML service provider never actually included S/E, just "production codes", which aren't the same thing.)

• I don't know if Mediaportal has support for the JSON service; have you asked in the MePo Newcomer's forum?

Any guidance would be greatly appreciated.

mm1352000

Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • September 1, 2008
    Home Country
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hello and welcome :)