Excessive Memory footprint?

Discussion in 'MyTV - Engine 0.2' started by BarrieSmith, October 22, 2007.

  1. BarrieSmith

    BarrieSmith Portal Member

    Joined:
    October 9, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    When I start using MY TV in MP the memory used by MP raises to over 350MBytes. My PC has 1GByte installed and when this happens it starts to page to the hard disk. as a result MP cralws and stutters. Apart from addinfg any extra memory is it correct for MP to use 350MByte?


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Spragleknas
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    Spragleknas Administrator

    Joined:
    December 21, 2005
    Messages:
    9,472
    Likes Received:
    1,385
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Occupied
    Location:
    Located
    Ratings:
    +1,892 / 12
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    Show System Specs
    Try setting MP priority to "above normal"
     
  4. BarrieSmith

    BarrieSmith Portal Member

    Joined:
    October 9, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Hi! Yes I trid the priority thing but I'm wondering about the amount of memory used. Any ideas?
     
  5. rtv
    • Team MediaPortal

    rtv Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    April 7, 2005
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    301
    Occupation:
    CTO at ES2000
    Location:
    Osnabruck
    Ratings:
    +301 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Please do not recommend such stupidy. This is merely a workaround for some faulty tvcard drivers. NO Application neither on Windows nor any other OS should judge about its priority and messing up with the OS's scheduler. It's almost sure that you'll suffer from serveral side effects...
     
  6. rtv
    • Team MediaPortal

    rtv Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    April 7, 2005
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    301
    Occupation:
    CTO at ES2000
    Location:
    Osnabruck
    Ratings:
    +301 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Considering it's a .NET app and most modern systems are designed to use the optimum of memory available (take MS SQL Server as a very good example) 350 MB are not that much. More important is the long term usage and whether memory / handles increase constantly in 24/7 usage.

    Initially graphs are build, thumbs may be cached, serveral .NET assemblies are loaded, etc. However if you realize that simply using e.g. the MyMusic plugin will:
    - use 120 MB - 150 MB on day 2
    - use 150 MB - 180 MB on day 3
    - etc...
    and memory usage does NOT decrease some time after stopping playback and going back to main menu then please tell us your findings.
     
  7. BarrieSmith

    BarrieSmith Portal Member

    Joined:
    October 9, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    rtv,
    Many thanks - Now I understand. I'm using a desktop PC to develop a Settop box based aounr MP. now I can see that the spec for my box will require 2GB of RAM to prevent excessive thrashing of the hard disk. Thanks for your very quick and informative reply.

    :D
     
  8. Spragleknas
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    Spragleknas Administrator

    Joined:
    December 21, 2005
    Messages:
    9,472
    Likes Received:
    1,385
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Occupied
    Location:
    Located
    Ratings:
    +1,892 / 12
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    Show System Specs
    Thanks for your kind words, rtv.

    I remember reading this being a solution to what I thought was a simular problem, but I should have searched it up before answering. I'll be sure to leave the answering to the experts.

    Doing a quick forum search shows that this is a workaround for jitter, tearing, stutter and sync-issues.

    Edit: NP, rtv ;)
     
  9. rtv
    • Team MediaPortal

    rtv Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    April 7, 2005
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    301
    Occupation:
    CTO at ES2000
    Location:
    Osnabruck
    Ratings:
    +301 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Just in case I found some irony - please don't take it personally - the "stupidy" might have been easy to misunderstand. It was targeted to "increasing the priority" not you giving the hint ;)
     
  10. blackheart42

    blackheart42 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    October 13, 2006
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    Canada Canada
    Hi Barry,

    Don't be so quick to throw memory at the problem. I have only 512M of RAM in my system and even with 2 tuners recording while I'm watching a pre-recorded show, MP uses less than 250MB without any problems. As rtv said, your memory usage might be normal, but there appears to be a separate issue that's causing the stuttering.

    Blackheart
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!