Portal Member
March 21, 2008
FANatic Monitor

Last updated: 08/03/31
Current version: 0.0.0.1b
Author: panni
Type: Utilities

Information
After failing in setting up the "My SpeedFan" plugin, which seems to have died in 2007 I decided a new system monitoring plugin for MediaPortal has to be developed.
With the working title "Speedphan" FANatic Monitor is the first MediaPortal plugin I've made and the first time I (was forced to) use C# - in the meantime I'm a Python developer.

Description
FANatic Monitor is a plugin which wraps up the information gathered from logfiles of the most famous Fan/Temperature/Voltage monitoring tool "SpeedFan" by Alfredo Milani Comparetti into a neat, lightweight MP plugin.
Compared to "My SpeedFan" this tool requires only a very short and easy to do setup and has a way clearer and more flexible output.

Downloads

Dependencies
  • MediaPortal 0.2.3.0 or later
  • SpeedFan (at least a version with Log support)

Installation
  • install SpeedFan (SpeedFan - Access temperature sensor in your computer - download the newest beta build if you want to have correct temperature readings on multi core systems for CoreX)
  • enable logging in the configuration of SpeedFan
  • check the "Logging" box of every sensor you want to have displayed in FANatic Monitor
  • use MPInstaller to install the MPI package, or extract the ZIP package to your MediaPortal folder (source included)
  • run FANatics setup
  • if your SpeedFan folder was not automatically detected by FANatic, please specify it
  • for every sensor in SpeedFan's config having "Logged" set to true please specify the type of the sensor in the "Sensors" part of the setup - this will define the unit of a sensor-reading's value (°F or °C for a temperature, rpm for a fan speed, V for a Voltage)
  • run MediaPortal

Roadmap
  • perhaps a neater look, some custom icons
  • configurable sensor reading threshold
  • threshold alarm on threshold reach
  • you tell me :)

Issues