Full screen for Nvidia Dual View Mode -Help please

Discussion in 'MediaPortal 1 Talk' started by KvH, September 6, 2006.

  1. KvH

    KvH New Member

    Joined:
    September 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney, Downunder
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi,
    I have Display 1= LCD monitor and display 2= the plasma and config Dual View via Nvidia as follows

    Display 1 is basically where I control my PC
    Display 2 is where I want MP to start in, which is successful in Window mode but whenever switched to full screen mode it jumps back to Display 1. Appreciated if someone could let me know how to get MP to start and/or stay on Display 2 in full screen mode.



    Crikey ! KvH
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Mayhem

    Mayhem New Member

    Joined:
    September 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Yeah, i've got the same problem...

    Any help would be much appreciated
     
  4. mPod

    mPod Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,084
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Berlin
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    That configuration is not supported. Please search the forums, it's full of threads about it.
     
  5. KvH

    KvH New Member

    Joined:
    September 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney, Downunder
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi,
    Thanks for the clarification. Having read this thread
    https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/showthread.php?t=4521&page=5&highlight=dual view

    all I can say is Crikey ! what a pity.....having kinda out grown MCE (lack of features and configuration to play around with) I was really looking forward to MP to replace the MCE as my media manager. But the lack of this feature really is an app killer for me, now that I'm used to multiple monitors setup and of course I wana to run MP on the bigger screen for the obvious viewing experience that MP brings.

    Triple CRIKEY !!!

    other than that keep up the crikey good work !
     
  6. mbuzina
    • Team MediaPortal

    mbuzina Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    April 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,839
    Likes Received:
    627
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +723 / 4
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    There is (was?) a plugin that switched Main / Secondary Monitor on start of MP and back again on exit. That might be of some use.
     
  7. mPod

    mPod Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,084
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Berlin
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Easy fix: Set your BIIIIIG screen as primary monitor, e.g. via profiles. Working perfectly here.
     
  8. yesyes

    yesyes New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    I have a similar problem. I just started using MP and wanted to have the GUI on one monitor (a converted 14.4 inch laptop panel) and full screen video on the other monitor (17" TFT). So that is not possible? I only really care about full screen video (movies and DVD) on the second screen, everything else should be on the small monitor.
     
  9. badbob

    badbob Portal Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    No it isn't a fix. What if your big display is a low resolution normal TV, and your primary is a 19" PC monitor used for Windows/Opera/OE? I can't read font easily on my TV it's all blurry, a PC monitor is far easier on the eyes.

    Currently I'm just using Windows Explorer, opening up Media Player and dragging it across the screen to the TV. Media Portal can't operate how I like, so reluctantly going back to MCE. When I had a single screen (42" LCD) it was fine, as that was high resolution to use it as a PC monitor.
     
  10. thinksnow

    thinksnow New Member

    Joined:
    January 29, 2005
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    1
    Occupation:
    Quality Assurance
    Location:
    Columbus, Ohio
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    This is exacatly whay I'm doing, with my 50" as #1 and my 19" LCD as #2. It was a pain the first time, but once I moved the start bar and all the desktop icons over and set all Windows windows to open at last location, which I made sure was #2, it's been smooth as silk for over a year now.

    Every once in a while, I'll have something open on the TV (#1) when it's off and, since I don't want to turn it on just to move a window, I use the fact that you can right-click on an item on the start bar, select "move," left-click somewhere on your #2 screen once, then left-click a second time and hold and you can drag the offending screen over to your LCD/#2. Pretty much takes care of everything.
     
  11. badbob

    badbob Portal Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    thanks, that's a solution! I was going to go back to MCE, now I don't. Not perfect but at least I have it working better than before.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!