Ongoing H.264 1080i/1080p Playback high CPU usage (1 Viewer)

matelot

Portal Member
December 25, 2006
Home Country
United Kingdom United Kingdom
Hi there,
I'm having lots of problems with smooth H.264 HD (1080i or 1080p) playback. 720p is fine, nice and smooth.

Spec I have is AMD X2 4800, GeForce 7800GTX, 2GB RAM. I'm using XP MCE with RU2 and Media Portal 0.2.2.0. I've installed klite standard, nvidia purevideo decoder and WinDVD 8.

When playing 1080i/1080p h264 content cpu is at 100%, video judders and sound ends up being out of synch.

I'm far from an expert at this so I may have a configuration problem, any help is appreciated.

TIA

matelot

Portal Member
December 25, 2006
Home Country
just installed VLC, using default settings get a black screen when trying a 1080i/p h264 encoded video

matelot

Portal Member
December 25, 2006
Home Country
thinking about it. should i just install Win MCE, NV Purevideo and thats it? do I need those other codecs and ffdshow etc..???

phertiker

Portal Member
June 29, 2005
Home Country
United States of America United States of America
by itself the purevideo codec doesn't do anything for h.264 video. actually, i'm not sure it does anything for h/x.264 video at all, i think it's the video driver and the codecs in windvd or powerdvd, that sort of thing, that give you hardware acceleration of h.264.

my personal favorite is CoreAVC. Efficient CPU usage for h/x.264 encoded video. It doesn't use hardware acceleration (yet) but i've found that it will actually have LOWER CPU usage than when using either Nvidia or ATI's hardware acceleration.

it also beats the crap out of both VLC and ffdshow's h/x.264 decoders. unfortunately it's not free, but it's definitely worth it.

I've posted links to CoreAVC twice today. I swear I don't work for them or anything, I just really dig their decoder!

oh, and definitely ditch the klite pack. codec packs suck: too big of a chance for conflict or disaster.

matelot

Portal Member
December 25, 2006