Help: How to apply a patch and compile MediaPortal? (1 Viewer)

AberDino

MP Donator
  • Premium Supporter
  • February 17, 2005
    Kincardineshire
    Home Country
    Scotland Scotland
    I now have a requirement to compile my own MediaPortal from the latest SVN build, but I need some help and I hope somebody can assist. I'm not a programmer...

Following the instructions from the relevant Wiki article, I downloaded and installed Visual C# Express 2005 (because it's free), .NET 2.0 SDK, the latest MS DirectX SDK, and TortoiseSVN. I configured TorToiseSVN to synchronise with https://mediaportal.svn.sourceforge.net/svnroot/mediaportal/trunk/. I noticed that this location currently is not up-to-date, as described in this article, but I can wait. I want to use one of the latest SVNs because of this fix.

Once I've got an up-to-date local copy of the latest SVN, I need to integrate the source code from the refresh rate changer plugin. I downloaded v0.61 of this plugin, which has a file included 'sources_20605.patch'. When I right-click on this file, TurtoiseSVN allows me to 'Apply patch...' and this brings up a 'Browse For Folder' box. My first question is, which directory should I pick here? Is it as simple as selecting the 'mediaportal' directory from the local source directory? Am I right in assuming I need to re-apply the patch after I perform a TorToiseSVN 'SVN Update'?