How to access your MP while it's being used by the wife - Remote desktop

Discussion in 'MediaPortal 1 Talk' started by jmarc, February 26, 2010.

  1. jmarc
    • Premium Supporter

    jmarc MP Donator

    Joined:
    August 21, 2008
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    9
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0
    Home Country:
    Hi all,

    Not sure where this post should go ...

    Anyway, just wanted to let you that it is possible to open a SECOND user session in your Windows 7 MP machine while it's being used by someone else (ie wife or kids). So now you can continue to do these VERY important adjustments to your beloved computer without upsetting anyone in the house ;)

    Have a look at this:



    How to Enable Concurrent Sessions for Remote Desktop in Windows 7 RTM

    Obviously you need a second computer to access the MP machine. From there, you open a second session and then can run performance monitor, check the logs etc etc. See screen dump.

    Have fun!

    Jean-Marc
     

    Attached Files:

    • Sysmon.PNG
      Sysmon.PNG
      File size:
      117.4 KB
      Uploaded:
      February 27, 2010
      Views:
      497
    • Like Like x 3
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. mrbert

    mrbert Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 16, 2008
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Design engineer
    Location:
    Rotterdam
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Is this only possible with Win7?
     
  4. jmarc
    • Premium Supporter

    jmarc MP Donator

    Joined:
    August 21, 2008
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    9
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0
    Home Country:
    Apparently it's also possible in Vista:

    Missing Remote

    But I haven't tried it. Dunno about XP.

    I'm using the MULTI option in Win 7, that allows me to open the second session under the same username as the main session.

    Cheers,

    PS: one great application of this is to be able to encode video files in the second session and let this run in the background. Haven't tried this while recording though, too scared to stuff the recording up ;)
     
  5. icerg

    icerg Portal Member

    Joined:
    March 20, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    I have been using this feature under XP for a while and it works very well.
     
  6. Nagarjuna

    Nagarjuna Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 27, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    7
    Occupation:
    The IT guy
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    jmarc, I love you. Came across this by browsing the forum. Thanks for posting!
     
  7. woddog

    woddog Portal Pro

    Joined:
    November 28, 2007
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Townsville, QLD
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    Home Country:
    Does anyone know of a good app that will allow you to do this if you don't happen to have MP installed on a PRO/Ultimate install?

    I've got Home Premium and the Remote desktop server doesn't exist on this version.
     
  8. pilehave
    • Premium Supporter

    pilehave Community Skin Designer

    Joined:
    April 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566
    Likes Received:
    500
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Technical consultant, marketing
    Location:
    Hornslet
    Ratings:
    +517 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    This may be obvious, but you must enable concurrent sessions on the HOST and not the CLIENT, right?
     
  9. rekenaar
    • Team MediaPortal

    rekenaar Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    December 17, 2006
    Messages:
    4,421
    Likes Received:
    782
    Ratings:
    +785 / 0
    Home Country:
    South Africa South Africa
    right.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. nikos1671

    nikos1671 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 21, 2008
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    8
    Occupation:
    IT
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0
    Home Country:
    Greece Greece
    What is the MULTI options in win 7 and where i can find it?
     
  11. rekenaar
    • Team MediaPortal

    rekenaar Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    December 17, 2006
    Messages:
    4,421
    Likes Received:
    782
    Ratings:
    +785 / 0
    Home Country:
    South Africa South Africa
    It is explained on the link in the 1st post.
    Way down the page in one of the user comments if I recall correctly.
     

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!