Home Country
United Kingdom United Kingdom
I am struggling to CDs. I have tried various options as follows

BASS engine - MP3 on HD OK, normal CDs OK, no DTS, normal CDs OK
inbuilt player - MP3 don't work, normal CDs OK, no DTS CDs

I installed AC3Filter and things changed

BASS engine - MP3 on HD OK, normal CDs OK, no DTS, normal CDs OK
inbuilt player - MP3 don't work, normal CDs OK, DTS CDs OK[/INDENT]

I have tried foobar outside MP but cannot get it to work on DTS CDs at all.

Any help would be most welcome

kevin939

Portal Pro
June 16, 2007
Home Country
United Kingdom United Kingdom
I just upgraded to MP 1 final and installed pureaudio but dts CDs have the same problem. I checked the settings and pureaudio is configured to use pureaudio on CDs

Any ideas anyone?

Brice

Portal Member
February 18, 2009
Home Country
France France
Hi
I am having the same problem playing DTS CDs through mediaportal.
I am no expert but i believe the problem comes from the fact that .cda files that are present on an audio cd are opened by default as though they were normal stereo files. It seems neither BAss player nor MP internal player nor PureAudio plugin can make the difference between a surround or a stereo file, which is why you only get static.

I for one have no clue altogether as to how to fix this.
The only solution i can think of would be some way to trick mediaportal into playing the dts cd through its DVD engine (software like powerdvd or windvd have no trouble playing the dts cds)

Cheers
Brice

HTPCSourcer

Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • May 16, 2008
    Home Country
    Germany Germany
    Hello guys,

I have no problem with PCM, Dolby Digital and DTS sources when I use AC3Filter as audio codec instead of the MP inbuilt Gabest decoders. You will of course need to appropriately configure AC3Filter to pass through all signals (in my case to SPDIF) and select AC3Filter for all audio decoders in the TV and DVD configuration section.