Install Error 1628: Installation Fails

Discussion in 'StreamedMP' started by jsimo01, April 11, 2009.

  1. jsimo01
    • Premium Supporter

    jsimo01 MP Donator

    Joined:
    February 24, 2008
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    15
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    I keep getting this error everytime I try to upgrade to 0.8.440, as well as 0.8.435. However I have managed to upgrade to 0.7.409 from an earlier release.

    I understand this to be a generic error code, has something changed in the way the .exe is compiled between 0.7409 and later releases?

    FYI: Using Vista 64-bit, latest MP 1.0.1 stable

    Many Thanks for any help.


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. venares

    venares Portal Member

    Joined:
    November 7, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Turn of your anti-virus.
    I also get this issue when I have Kaspersky running, turn it off for 5 minutes and voila.
     
  4. ltfearme
    • Premium Supporter

    ltfearme Community Plugin Dev

    Joined:
    June 10, 2007
    Messages:
    6,457
    Likes Received:
    4,241
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Software Test Engineer
    Location:
    Sydney
    Ratings:
    +5,385 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
  5. jsimo01
    • Premium Supporter

    jsimo01 MP Donator

    Joined:
    February 24, 2008
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    15
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Many Thanks,

    Kaspersky was the culprit.
     
  6. Sh4nn0w
    • Premium Supporter

    Sh4nn0w MP Donator

    Joined:
    September 14, 2006
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    14
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Telecommunications
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Flushing my temp files worked for me.
     
  7. donmerlinus

    donmerlinus Portal Member

    Joined:
    August 6, 2005
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Re: Streamed MP v1.3.0 Stable [25 Aug 2010] [Supports MP 1.1.0]

    Hi,

    thanks for your very nice skin. I loce it since months.

    But I have a problem with the new Version. I had 1.2x installed and updated per MePo-UI. If I installed 1.3 the installer aborted with error "1628: Failed to complete installation". Then I tried to deinstall the previous version but there was the same error. Now I deleted all files in temp from win7. But it did not help.

    How can I install 1.3 now or deinstall 1.2?

    Thanks in advance.
    DonMerlinus
     
  8. ltfearme
    • Premium Supporter

    ltfearme Community Plugin Dev

    Joined:
    June 10, 2007
    Messages:
    6,457
    Likes Received:
    4,241
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Software Test Engineer
    Location:
    Sydney
    Ratings:
    +5,385 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    If the above posts dont help donmerlinus, try re-download the corresponding v1.2.x version (from the googlecode site) and run that. See if it can be removed/repaired. we can go from there if it doesnt work.

    Please also mention if Kaspersky is installed.
     
  9. donmerlinus

    donmerlinus Portal Member

    Joined:
    August 6, 2005
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi ltfearme,

    thanks for your help, but it didn't work. If I want to install the previous version, the installer breaks with the same error. The installer doesn't show the screen to modify, repair or delete this skin. Is there a log-file from the installer? Can I replace the files in the skin-directory manually or can I upgrade 1.2x to 1.3 via MePo-GUI?

    Thanks in advance.

    DonMerlinus
     
  10. ltfearme
    • Premium Supporter

    ltfearme Community Plugin Dev

    Joined:
    June 10, 2007
    Messages:
    6,457
    Likes Received:
    4,241
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Software Test Engineer
    Location:
    Sydney
    Ratings:
    +5,385 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    I can explain how to manually remove it donmerlinus but need to know the exact version you have installed? There is a log file (atleast I think its enabled...would be in %temp%).

    EDIT: nevermind about letting me know the version, I will list all steps and possibly create a tool to manually remove the skin if this happens again.
     
  11. donmerlinus

    donmerlinus Portal Member

    Joined:
    August 6, 2005
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi,

    I installed the latest version within MePo-GUI. And this is v1.2.1 r1679.

    I'll look at my temp-dir if I am back home in the evening. Perhaps I find that log-file.

    DonMerlinus
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!