Is Avermedia AverTV Hybrid+FM Volar (A828) on Windows 7 compatible with MP??

Discussion in 'TV-Cards' started by maou, August 18, 2011.

  1. maou

    maou Portal Member

    Joined:
    August 18, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Greece Greece
    Hello,
    Does anyone know if the Avermedia AverTV Hybrid+FM Volar (Model A828) USB stick works with MP. The TV-Server configuration program sees it ok, it reports that their ia an AverMedia Hybrid TV BDA Tuner (XC3018) (the digitl part) and an AverMedia Hybrid TV Tuner (the analog part). I assume the BDA means that the driver for the tuner is BDA compatible.
    When I try to scan for channels the stick is not activated. Their is a blue led that is on when it is activated.
    It works fine with Windows Media Center.
    Any suggestions are wellcomed,



    Best regards
    Napoleon Maou
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hi and welcome Napoleon :)

    Yes the A828 should be supported, however I think the analog part requires a software encoder to be installed. Note that the Avermedia software encoder is not supported.

    Which part of the tuner are you trying to scan with?
    Are you able to post logs? (Using the watchdog should make that easy - just use option 3 "export all currently present logs" to create a zip file containing all your logs that you can post here.)

    mm
     
  4. maou

    maou Portal Member

    Joined:
    August 18, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Greece Greece
    Neither the Digital or Analog scanning work. When I try to scan the analog tuner it does ask me for a software encoder. I installed the WinDVD, the Corel trial version, but the problem persisted. But i am interested in solving the Digital tuner scanning problem first.

    As I said the problem seems to be that the MediaPortal does not comunicate with the Tuner card. Both Windows Media Center and the Avermedia Media Center can communicate with and use the TV Tuner. And when they do the blue led goes on, but not when the MP TVServer configuration program tries to scan for channels.

    I tried to scan again, both the analog and the digital tuners and I include the log files created by the watchdog application.

    Napoleon
     
  5. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hi again Napoleon

    WinDVD doesn't contain encoders - only decoders. Anyhow, let's deal with the digital tuner first...

    It seems like there is a problem on your system that is preventing TV Server from even initialising the tuner:

    Show Spoiler
    2011-08-18 05:00:50.194924 [(16)]: card: Tune 1 to
    2011-08-18 05:00:50.195924 [(16)]: card: user: chortiatis:1:-1 tune DVBT:tv: Freq:478000 ONID:-1 TSID:-1 SID:-1 PMT:0xFFFFFFFF FTA:False LCN:10000 BandWidth:8
    2011-08-18 05:00:50.216925 [(16)]: dvbt: Tune:DVBT:tv: Freq:478000 ONID:-1 TSID:-1 SID:-1 PMT:0xFFFFFFFF FTA:False LCN:10000 BandWidth:8
    2011-08-18 05:00:50.217926 [(16)]: dvbt:BuildGraph
    2011-08-18 05:00:50.221926 [(16)]: dvb:AddNetworkProviderFilter
    2011-08-18 05:00:50.227926 [(16)]: dvb:Add Generic Network Provider
    2011-08-18 05:00:50.230926 [(16)]: dvbt:CreateTuningSpace()
    2011-08-18 05:00:50.259928 [(16)]: dvbt:found correct tuningspace MediaPortal DVBT TuningSpace
    2011-08-18 05:00:50.260928 [(16)]: dvb:Add MPEG2 Demultiplexer filter
    2011-08-18 05:00:50.262928 [(16)]: dvb:add Inf Tee filter
    2011-08-18 05:00:50.262928 [(16)]: dvb:AddAndConnectBDABoardFilters
    2011-08-18 05:00:50.264928 [(16)]: dvb: find bda tuner
    2011-08-18 05:00:50.292930 [(16)]: dvb: using [Tuner]: AVerMedia Hybrid TV BDA Tuner (XC3018)
    2011-08-18 05:00:50.293930 [(16)]: dvb: Render [Network provider]->[Tuner] OK
    2011-08-18 05:00:50.294930 [(16)]: dvb: Find BDA receiver
    2011-08-18 05:00:50.294930 [(16)]: dvb: match Capture by Tuner device path
    2011-08-18 05:00:50.297930 [(16)]: dvb: -AVerMedia Hybrid TV BDA TS Capture
    2011-08-18 05:00:50.300930 [(16)]: dvb: Render [Tuner]->[Capture] AOK
    2011-08-18 05:00:50.310931 [(16)]: dvb: WinTv CI module not detected.
    2011-08-18 05:00:50.310931 [(16)]: dvb: Render [capture]->[inftee]
    2011-08-18 05:00:50.312931 [(16)]: dvb: OK
    2011-08-18 05:00:50.312931 [(16)]: dvb: Render [inftee]->[demux]
    2011-08-18 05:00:50.314931 [(16)]: dvb: Add Mediaportal TsWriter filter
    2011-08-18 05:00:50.315931 [(16)]: dvb:Decompose
    2011-08-18 05:00:50.316931 [(16)]: tvcard:FreeAllSubChannels
    2011-08-18 05:00:50.317931 [(16)]: stop
    2011-08-18 05:00:50.418937 [(16)]: free...
    2011-08-18 05:00:50.419937 [(16)]: free pins...
    2011-08-18 05:00:50.421937 [(16)]: !!! Error releasing TSWriter filter (_filterTsWriter as IBaseFilter was null!)
    2011-08-18 05:00:50.422937 [(16)]: free graph...
    2011-08-18 05:00:50.424937 [(16)]: Remove filter from graph: MPEG2-Demultiplexer
    2011-08-18 05:00:50.425937 [(16)]: Remove filter from graph: Inf Tee
    2011-08-18 05:00:50.426937 [(16)]: Remove filter from graph: AVerMedia Hybrid TV BDA TS Capture
    2011-08-18 05:00:50.427938 [(16)]: Remove filter from graph: AVerMedia Hybrid TV BDA Tuner (XC3018)
    2011-08-18 05:00:50.428938 [(16)]: Remove filter from graph: Generic Network Provider
    2011-08-18 05:00:50.429938 [(16)]: free devices...
    2011-08-18 05:00:50.430938 [(16)]: decompose done...


    Can you please do two things for me:
    1. Check that there is a TsWriter.ax file in your TV Server install folder.
    2. Ensure that you have the Microsoft VC++ 2008 redistributable installed - you need the x86 version.

    Also, are you able to tell me whether you ran the MediaPortal installer as administrator?

    mm
     
  6. maou

    maou Portal Member

    Joined:
    August 18, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Greece Greece
    Hello,
    (1) The VC++ 2008 redistibutables are installed, actually there are two versionw of it installed
    a)x86 9.0.30729.17 and x86 9.0.30729.6161
    (2) I login using an account that haw administrator rights, not with the administrator account.
    (3) The RsWriter.ax is there ok,
    I registered the TsWriter.ax using the regsvr32 command. Actually I registered all the .ax files found in the installation directory by running the following commands
    regsvr32 mpFileWriter.ax
    regsvr32 MPIPTVSource.ax
    regsvr32 PDMpgMux.ax
    regsvr32 TsWriter.ax
    After that the digital scanning worked fine. BUT, when I run the MP it does not display any video. The TVTuner is activated, the led goes on, but no video is displayed and no audio is heared. Insead I get the following error message "Unable to play:live1-0.ts.tsbuffer

    I include the latest log files.
     
  7. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hi Napoleon

    The TV Server is looking happier now - tuning is occuring successfully. :)

    This is not a good sign - you should not have had to do that manually. That is why I asked whether you installed MP with right-click + run as administrator. Even though scanning is now working, I would actually suggest that you do a complete uninstall and then reinstall again properly.

    This is probably because the *.ax filters (for example TsReader.ax) in the MediaPortal client were also not registered by the installer. You could use regsvr32 to register them, but again I suggest you reinstall completely to be on the safe side.

    Best regards,
    mm
    :)
     
  8. maou

    maou Portal Member

    Joined:
    August 18, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Greece Greece
    Hello,
    I registered all the .ax files and everything worked fine.
    I then completly removed MediaPortal and then installed it as administrator. After that the digirtal part works fine.

    But the analog part doew not work. It still asks for the audio/video encoder.
    I followed the instractions in the wiki and I installed
    (a) Corel WinDVR which is what the Intevideo WinDVR is called now.
    (b) the Cyberlink power director 9 which I assume installed the encoder
    (b) the Main Concept MCE encode 1.5, I installed the Vista version since their is no Win7 version.

    I then used the GraphEdit program to see what filters are installed. (I read about this procedure somewhere but I do not remeber where). I looked in the Graph->Insert Filer ->Video compressors, but i do not think that any of the three video encoders were present. There is a ffdshow video encoder, a DV Video encoder, MSScreen 9 encoder, WMVideo8 Encoder, WMVideo9 encoder,x264vfw codec,Xvid MPEG4 dodec, ffdshow codec, DivX 6.85 codec, and some Intell and Cinepak entriew I can not read the labels because I am using a Greek version of Windows 7 and it seems that a font is missing.

    I really have no idea what to do next. Any suggestions are very very wellcomed.

    An othet question: I was thinking of buying a new TVTuner but I could not find any information about Hybrid DVB-T + analog USB TVTuners that have a hardware encoder, so I do not need the software encoder. I could find information about the RF receiver they use XC2028 for the Hauppague HVR900 stick I found, but nothig about hardware encoder in the stick.
    Any suggestions on that front?????

    Best regards,
    Napoleon
     
  9. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hi again Napoleon

    I don't know of any USB sticks with a hardware encoder built in. I think the form factor would be too small to fit the encoding chip, let alone handle the heat from it.

    Regarding the software encoder: do you see any encoder devices listed in the "DirectShow Filters" category?

    mm
     
  10. maou

    maou Portal Member

    Joined:
    August 18, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Greece Greece
    Yes,
    Avermedia MCE MPEG Audio Encoder
    AVerMEdia MCE MPEG-2 Video Encoder
    MainConcept (MCE Demo)MPEG Encoder
    Microsoft AC3 Encoder
    Microsoft MPEG-2 Audio encoder
    Microsoft MPEF-2 Video encoder

    Napoleon
     
  11. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hi again

    Well at least we can see that the Mainconcept encoder is installed. It is such a pain because they keep changing the name of it (which is what we use to identify it) - that is why it doesn't work. If you were using MP 1.2.0b then you could just add the Avermedia and Mainconcept encoder names to the database, however since you're using 1.1.3 I would have to compile patches to allow you to try each of them. In the short term, I think the easiest thing to do would be to install the older version of WinDVR from -->here<--. It will stop working after 30 days though and you can't buy it any more. In the long term it would be better to upgrade to MP 1.2.0 and add the encoder names to the database if necessary...

    mm
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!