[no Bug] - Language for all following plugins set to english if a plugin couldn't be translated

Discussion in 'MediaPortal 1.2.0 BETA' started by hirscho, May 5, 2011.

  1. hirscho

    hirscho Portal Pro

    Joined:
    December 24, 2006
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    10
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    MediaPortal Version: MP 1.2 Beta
    MediaPortal Skin: StreamedMP
    Windows Version: Windows 7 64bit
    CPU Type: Intel Core Duo, 2.4GHz
    HDD: Caviar Green, WD10EADS, 1 TB
    Memory: Corsair TwinX 2x 1024MB DDR2-675, Kingston KVR800D2N6/2G DDR2 2GB 800MHz PC2-6400 CL6
    Motherboard: Asus P5QL/EPU
    Video Card: HIS Radeon 5570
    Video Card Driver: 11.4
    Sound Card: VIA VT1708S, 8 channel
    Sound Card AC3: AC3 optical
    Sound Card Driver: 6.0.1.7400, 08-17-2009
    1. TV Card: Azurewave AD-SP400 / Twinhan DVB-S2 CI
    1. TV Card Type: DVB-S2
    1. TV Card Driver: 1.1.2.700
    2. TV Card: TechniSat SkyStar HD2
    2. TV Card Type: DVB-S
    2. TV Card Driver: 1.1.2.700
    3. TV Card:
    3. TV Card Type:
    3. TV Card Driver:
    4. TV Card:
    4. TV Card Type:
    4. TV Card Driver:
    MPEG2 Video Codec: ffdshow
    MPEG2 Audio Codec: ffdshow
    h.264 Video Codec: CyberLink Video Decoder (PDVD10)
    Satelite/CableTV Provider: Astra 19.2°E
    HTPC Case: Silverstone GD-01S-MX
    Cooling: Ultra Silent-Kühler NoiseMagic XP-120 NMT Papst
    Power Supply: 400 Watt Ultra-Silent NoiseMagic Enermax Liberty
    Remote: Harmony 555 with iMon
    TV: Samsung LE-46A656
    TV - HTPC Connection: HDMI



    Some plugins, even default plugins are not translated to German, if one plugin was found, which could not be translated. My interpretation of the log is, that in the line

    2011-05-05 07:23:50.010491 [Warn.][MPMain(1)]: Cannot find translation file C:\ProgramData\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal\Language\MPEI\de.xml. Failing back to English

    MP switches to English and all following plugins are loaded with the back up language even if a German translation file would be available. The result is a partly translated MP.
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. jameson_uk
    • Premium Supporter

    jameson_uk Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 27, 2005
    Messages:
    7,258
    Likes Received:
    2,228
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Data Warehousing Consultant
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +2,405 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Re: Language for all following plugins set to english if a plugin couldn't be transla

    Not sure what you are saying here. By design MP defaults to English where no translation is available.

    That log entry is purely for the MPEI plugin. The MPEI plugin is not part of MP and I have just had a look at the code (/trunk/Setup/language/ - mpei-plugin - MediaPortal plugin to manage extensions - Google Project Hosting) and there are only English and French strings available. If you want that plugin translated I am sure the dev who maintains it would be happy for you to provide a language file.

    Same goes for any other plugins. What built in plugins are not translated?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. hirscho

    hirscho Portal Pro

    Joined:
    December 24, 2006
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    10
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Re: Language for all following plugins set to english if a plugin couldn't be transla

    Hi jameson_uk

    Thanks for the fast reply!

    Please find a screenshot from the tv plugin, which was not translated. I also started MP in debug mode only with built in plugins and translation worked fine.

    Additionally when I change the language in MP from German to English and back, everything is translated again. After standby and resume MP switches back to English.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. SilentException
    • Premium Supporter

    SilentException Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    October 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,617
    Likes Received:
    1,125
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Rijeka, Croatia
    Ratings:
    +1,129 / 0
    Home Country:
    Croatia Croatia
    Re: Language for all following plugins set to english if a plugin couldn't be transla

    One of the plugins you're using is not behaving correctly and it's changing MediaPortal language instead if just it's language. Try to disable everything and then discover which plugin it is by trial and error. After that, report the bug to plugin developer(s) as this ain't MediaPortal bug, that's how it looks like.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. hirscho

    hirscho Portal Pro

    Joined:
    December 24, 2006
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    10
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Re: Language for all following plugins set to english if a plugin couldn't be transla

    ok, thanks. I will test it out.
     
  7. SilentException
    • Premium Supporter

    SilentException Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    October 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,617
    Likes Received:
    1,125
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Rijeka, Croatia
    Ratings:
    +1,129 / 0
    Home Country:
    Croatia Croatia
    Re: Language for all following plugins set to english if a plugin couldn't be transla

    Try to disable MPEI plugin first. It might be the one :)
     
  8. amilewski

    amilewski Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 14, 2007
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    Jelenia Góra
    Ratings:
    +26 / 0
    Home Country:
    Poland Poland
    Show System Specs
    Re: Language for all following plugins set to english if a plugin couldn't be transla

    Hi,

    Same issue here, in my case Stocks&Indices was causing this. When disabled everything was OK with translation.
    Plugin version I'm using is 0.6.5.
     
  9. hirscho

    hirscho Portal Pro

    Joined:
    December 24, 2006
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    10
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Re: Language for all following plugins set to english if a plugin couldn't be transla

    That's correct. I also have to deactivate the Power Control plugin.
     
  10. amilewski

    amilewski Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 14, 2007
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    Jelenia Góra
    Ratings:
    +26 / 0
    Home Country:
    Poland Poland
    Show System Specs
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!